Cold start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2011, 10:47 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cold start

I own a 2006 f-350 ford. After i bought the truck brand new, everyone told me it was of the worse ford I could buy and had lots problems. In six years my front end shimmied and had to clean out my egr valve. But now I have to warm it up for 20 minutes everyday before it will idle and drive without hesitation. I regularly change the oil and fuel filter will bad glow plugs cause this problem or was everyone just right and this truck just not built to last. Any suggestions?

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-23-2011, 10:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I'm no diesel mechanic but this sounds to me like a glow plug issue. Just my 2 cents.

Old 12-23-2011, 10:58 AM
Illiana Chapter Director

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Check your FICM voltage. Is it getting harder to start and feel like it has a miss after it starts?
Old 12-23-2011, 11:28 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanna6powerstroke View Post
Check your FICM voltage. Is it getting harder to start and feel like it has a miss after it starts?
Mine does that on really cold mornings. Take about 4-5 sec to turnover and has a miss. Is that due to FICM voltage?
Old 12-23-2011, 11:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Wow 2 things in six years! Not bad is it!

Old 12-23-2011, 11:33 AM
Illiana Chapter Director

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowens677 View Post
Mine does that on really cold mornings. Take about 4-5 sec to turnover and has a miss. Is that due to FICM voltage?
Sure will
Old 12-23-2011, 11:43 AM
PROUD AMERICAN!!!

Feedback Score: 6 reviews