New "Old" guy messes up SCT Tuner - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2011, 04:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New "Old" guy messes up SCT Tuner

Sometimes a fellow is is his own worst enemy; today is an example.

I bought a new to me SCT X3 (SP) tuner. I was DL'in updates from the SCT site, and up pops a found new hardware flag. Well, I hit cancel, and when it closed; underneath was a message on the SCT Device Manager that said: "ignore device found warning during DL. If you cancel it, your device will be destabilized.

It wasn't kidding. I've read 12-15 pages of search resuts over the last several hours and am still in the same spot. Still no joy with the tuner.

Tomorrow I will call SCT tech support and confess. Unless of course someone here can save my bacon.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-11-2011, 04:36 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,732
Thanks: 93
Thanked 188 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Does the SCT device power up when it's either plugged in to your PC or OBDII port?

Have you tried uninstalling all the SCT software from your PC, and then reinstalling?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-11-2011, 05:00 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
[QUOTE=Lilpooh;2797825]Does the SCT device power up when it's either plugged in to your PC or OBDII port?

Have you tried uninstalling all the SCT software from your PC, and then reinstalling?[/QUOTE

Yes to both of your questions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-11-2011, 05:14 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,732
Thanks: 93
Thanked 188 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Well then, its outta my hands! Sorry, you may have to contact SCT they can either walk you thru it or take over your PC remotely to help you out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-11-2011, 05:19 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
Well then, its outta my hands! Sorry, you may have to contact SCT they can either walk you thru it or take over your PC remotely to help you out.
Thanks a bunch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-11-2011, 05:24 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: rogers ar.
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can you go to the control panel on your computer and find it in the removable drives?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-11-2011, 07:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by my0460 View Post
Can you go to the control panel on your computer and find it in the removable drives?
I don't have that choice on my control panel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:40 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: rogers ar.
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry I mint my computer. It should show your drivers their. (Removables i,e,, ext. )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-12-2011, 06:42 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by my0460 View Post
Sorry I mint my computer. It should show your drivers their. (Removables i,e,, ext. )
No, it doesn't show up there. I also don't get a "device found" flag when I plug it in the USB socket.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-12-2011, 07:10 AM
Winning DUHHH


 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sunrise Beach, MO
Posts: 2,357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Go to Start> RIGHT click on Computer>Manage>Device Manager> And look for either a big yellow question mark, or your SCT on the list...it should say somewhere in there about it being connected
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors