New to the Powerstroke line - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2011, 03:44 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New to the Powerstroke line

Hey Men and ladies,

small introduction:

I am new to the Powerstroke line and have just purchased a used PS 6.0. It came in an incredibly maintained 05 F350 extracab 6.5'bed. There have been many updates according to the service techs at the dealership (The previous owner of my new ride is a diesel tech at another Ford dealership and was apparently a fanatic about Preventative maintenence and making sure the truck rode and handled like new).

I am certain that I will come up with other questions / issues as my ownership of this great ride continues but for now I am looking simple and basic...

The engine has 106k miles on it and is ready for an oil change in a few weeks..... and I am not sure what way is the most recommended way to go with proper oil and filter etc.. Can anyone lend some feedback ? I am looking to change next weekend and at the same time take a sample of the oil to send in to Blackstone labs. I live in Ma. and hav e all intents of plowing this season if this helps with any advice that may be offered up.

Thanks in advance and I eagerly look forward to fishing in the deep pool of knowledge here at PS.org.

Whitewater
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-10-2011, 04:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Welcome to the .ORG

I since we are moving into winter, I would go with a good synthetic 5w40 and ONLY a Motorcraft or Raycor filter. Some say Fram is the same filter… Do not use Wix or any other brand and ONLY used the OEM filter cap.
Old 12-11-2011, 04:32 PM

Ham Radio Man I thank you for the advise !! I am sorry for the prolonged late reply I didn't think I would get an answer so fast so I just checked this tonight.