Tuning throwing codes? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2011, 01:58 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tuning throwing codes?

First off I have Vivians tunes and I'm going to call her today to get an answer from the source, but I wanted to see if any one else has the same or similar issues.

When my truck is stock I get no codes or smoke out of the tailpipe. But when I load my tunes I get a FICM incompatibility code and a MAP/BARO correlation code. It also blows a fair amount of blue smoke (smells like diesel not oil).

Are these issues that she can fix in the tune writing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-09-2011, 03:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Naperville IL
Posts: 573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is that a U0306? I am getting that when I connect my CTS, reflased my FICM yesterday and that made no difference, Edge had no answer/solution. Three year with a Hypertech and no such code. This is my 2nd CTS in 2 weeks and both threw this code immediatly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-09-2011, 03:52 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That sounds about right.. I'm not so worried about that one, I spoke to her about once before, and was told is basically from the tune being based off a different strategy than what the FICM expects to see. But it shouldn't cause any problems.

The MAP/BARO code is the one that has me curious since fuel mapping and VGT cycle takes those readings into consideration.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-09-2011, 04:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Naperville IL
Posts: 573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check the rubber line from the map sensor, especially if it has been "t" into for an accessory, I ran into this once way back, a new tune makes more boost and it lets go
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-09-2011, 04:20 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've checked it, and ran a Allen wrench through the manifold nipple and alls well.

I only get that code when it's tuned, if I put it back to stock the code disappears. Which is why I'm wondering if it's something written into the tune that's making the code pop up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-10-2011, 01:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 276
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I get the cam shift poisition sensor error when I have my SF3 on performance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-10-2011, 01:33 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's weird that the code only pop up while the truck is tuned.. Hopefully Vivian can sort it out when I talk to her
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-10-2011, 01:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If she sorts it out for you let me know. I am getting the same identical codes and only on looney as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-10-2011, 01:40 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by renegadedooer View Post
If she sorts it out for you let me know. I am getting the same identical codes and only on looney as well.
What year truck do you have? I'm wondering if it's a 03-04 issue.. but, it's worth a thought

Edit: sorry, just saw you have a 04.. Haha. Stupid autoguide iPhone app..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-10-2011, 01:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mines an 04. We are the red head step children with the 03-04. Can I pm you her response?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors