sct tuners on apple computer - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old 12-06-2011, 04:02 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sct tuners on apple computer

I just purchased the sct sf3 and put the install disc in and I've pretty much come to the conclusion that their software is not compatable with a mac computer, anyone have any advise? Can I still use the programmer as is from the box on the truck? or am i asking for trouble ?
mtbxdrew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 12-06-2011, 06:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jtk27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pauls Valley, OK
Posts: 241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Asking for trouble. I'm a Mac as well, but the guys who write these programs and such serve the masses, which is PC. I use a cheap laptop to do updates and such.

05 F250 King Ranch PSD 4x4
-ARP head studs with factory ford gaskets
-Updated oil rail plugs
-Liberator diesel Y-pipe
-SCT X3 Custom tuned by Eric
-Dieselsite Coolant filter kit
-High Idle Mod
-Edge Insight CS w/EGT
-Sinister EGR Delete
-Prestige Remote Start
-Upgraded turbo drain tube
-Upgraded HPOP connection
-Blue spring kit

South Central Oklahoma Ranch Hand Accessory Dealer
jtk27 is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 12-06-2011, 06:29 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The SF3 will most likely already have the lateset update, so wouldnt think you would need to hook it to the PC at all. It already comes preloaded with tunes from SCT so you should be good to go for tuning. If you ever wanted to load custom tunes onto the unit then you would have to have a PC.
a2elvis is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 12-06-2011, 10:20 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Would it be worth a call to sct? I really don't want any headaches for just trying to get better fuel economy.
mtbxdrew is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 12-06-2011, 11:36 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You should call them they will show you where to check and see if it is up to date
PaulBoss is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 12-06-2011, 12:03 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
Lilpooh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,787
Thanks: 95
Thanked 195 Times in 157 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Depending on how long the unit has been sitting on the shelf at a vendor, the latest SF3 update was on February 9, 2011.


To check for the latest Firmware and Tune Rev, hook up the SF3 to your truck, this will power the SF3 up. Now scroll down to "device info", here you will see the firmware and tune rev numbers. Write them down and the. Go to the SCT website and compare your device info to the website.

2004 F350 CC DRW King Ranch
X-3 tunes by DJ'S,QT,GH,ID. Gryphon FICM tunes, ARP studs,Stage 1turbo,ATS coolant recirc lines,Swamp's 48v ficm,coolant filter,AD2,Snow Perf stage II,EGR delete,4" turbo back straight pipe,S&Bintake,Quad "A" pillar autometer gauges,Suncoast Tri Disk Conv.,Billet input shaft,Suncoast superduty rebuild kit,Trans-go shift kit,Mag-Hytec trans pan,CFM+ elbow,ccv mod,15K reese 5er,17" LCD TV/DVD,Cobra 29 Nitewatch CB
Lilpooh is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 12-06-2011, 01:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
baycountry16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kensington, MD
Posts: 363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
On a side note somewhat related, I only have a Mac as well and was soon gonna purchase an edge insight CTS. Does anyone know if that is compatible with macs? Sorry to hijack the thread and thanks!


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2006 F-250 King Ranch Crew Cab Long Bed
146,000 miles and counting....

Mods so far....More to come
ARP Head Studs
Custom Diesel EGR Delete
4" MBRP Turbo Back Straight Piped Exhaust
Zerex CAT ELC Coolant
Updated STC Fitting, Turbo Feed and Drain Tube
PMM Coolant Filter
Blue Spring Upgrade
High Idle Mod
Edge Insight CTS
Edge expandable EGT Probe
Edge Fuel Pressure Sensor
SES SS Billet Grille Inserts
Recon Smoked Cab Light Covers
baycountry16 is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 12-06-2011, 01:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
As it is now, from what I understand, if you're running a Mac, you'll have to use VM Fusion w/ Windows or some other Virtual Machine program (Parallels or whatever else is available).
Brieldo is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 08-29-2012, 03:13 PM
WWW.COMPIGNTECH.COM

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9,393
Thanks: 98
Thanked 106 Times in 84 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
I know this is a super old thread but I was wondering if anyone knows how to use virtualbox running windows on a mac os x 10.6.8 how to get windows in the vm to allow me to mount my tuner to the machine so I can update the firmware and such I keep getting an error saying VERR_OUT_OF_RESOURCES but I have over 80 gigs of hard drive and 8 gigs of ram?? Any one out there know how to make this work?

l BRYAN l


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
COMPIGNTECH .COM

Look us up on Facebook
COMPRESSION IGNITION TECHNOLOGIES

l 2005 l Ford F250 l FTX l
[A Few Odds-N-Ends]


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tuscany is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 08-29-2012, 03:53 PM
WWW.COMPIGNTECH.COM

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 9,393
Thanks: 98
Thanked 106 Times in 84 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Bumping this up I really need someone's help.

l BRYAN l


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
COMPIGNTECH .COM

Look us up on Facebook
COMPRESSION IGNITION TECHNOLOGIES

l 2005 l Ford F250 l FTX l
[A Few Odds-N-Ends]


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tuscany is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome