Just need some advice - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2011, 11:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just need some advice

I purchased a 2006 F-250 6.0 and I am being bombarded with the typical advice from every one who thinks they know diesel engines but don't wrench on their own. Ford just replaced my FICM, EGR cooler, and oil cooler and WOW what a price tag! I want to work on the engine my self but I am new to diesel. Can any one give me a list of typical issues that will follow these, so that I may prepare and educate myself?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-19-2011, 11:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

I would say the first thing is get an edge insight so you can monitor your vitals (ECT,EOT,EGT...etc) Its like being one step ahead of the game. Also drive it like you stole it!! I mean it I clean mine out every time I hit a onramp These trucks hate to be babied as anyone will tell you. Last keep up with the maintenance. Im sure someone else will chime in now. Enjoy your ride
Old 11-20-2011, 03:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

The replacement FICM is still subject to issues if you let your electrical system get low on voltage (batteries or alternator). If it ever craters on you again, it is easy to fix (FICMrepair.com will upgrade some weak components and re-flow the circuitboard solder at a reasonable price).

The OEM EGR cooler is a weak point. A new one should be fine for many years if you properly maintain your coolant system, but the BulletProofDiesel one is MUCH better. Some people delete the EGR system as the solution.