Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Mercon LV - Is it or Isn't it Synthetic?!!!

63K views 47 replies 20 participants last post by  ZMANN 
#1 ·
I am not trying to blow up the forum on a topic that has been beaten to death. I am trying to find a legitimate QUALIFIED source for the answer and I am being told by Ford it is NOT synthetic and read in other sources that are not Ford related that it IS synthetic. Do we have any petroleum engineers that could weigh in?

Again, sorry for beating this dead horse until is is already turning into glue, but I need to service my tranny and this makes a material difference in my approach. If Mercon LV truly is syn, then I'll use it. If not, I'm moving over to either Mobil 1 or Amsoil ATF.

Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
I'm not a petroleum engineer, so I'll defer to someone who is, but wouldn't a better question be "which ATF fluid--Mercon LV, Mobil, or Amsoil--has been shown in trials to perform best when it comes to cooling, wear, and shift quality?

I'm not trying to be impolite, I'm just curious why you're more concerned about the chemical base of the fluid than with performance of it. I assume your ultimate goal is to maximize the life and performance of the transmission, no?

#3 ·
You are not being impolite - you just unknowingly and gracefully proved yourself more intelligent, that's all!:doh:

Yep - you are correct on your assumptions for the most part. The point about the Mercon is that the dealer did a flush w/seal treatment at 50K (no filter change or screen clean) and I am intending on either a pan drop/'08 filter and pan install, flush with Mercon if it is syn. If not, doing the same only using a syn of a different mother.

Other than that, you are correct, your question really jumps out in front of all of that noise. I am usually towing so I need to pamper it with the good stuff. Anyone know the answers?

#4 ·