newby that needs advice and powerstroke knowledge - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2011, 08:26 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
newby that needs advice and powerstroke knowledge

Hey everyone im new to the site and soon to be a first time ford owner. I have had chevys all my life but now its go big or go home, im a contractor and plow snow in the winter I need power and dependability. I need some advice on a truck im about to purchase from my step father. It is a 2006 f250 with the problem child 6.0 in it yet I've heard there are ways to make the motor pretty much as true if not better than the old 7.3. I was told if I put an egr delete kit,cool air intake,mbrp turbo back 4" exhaust,and a arp. Stud kit in, with the power pup chip that is already in the truck that I will be taking care of most of the issuesand will be in the area of 20mpg. Is this a true statement or have I been told wrong. Im not here to build a racer I want to have a good work horse since I pull large loads but I want it to be a dependable long life vehicle. Any input or suggestions. Would be great. I was also told that keeping up on regular maintenance will be keep the motor in tip top shape with no worries as any vehicle would lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2011, 08:49 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

How many miles does it have? Ditch the intake idea, you cant beat the factory intake, they say its good for up to 500+ hp. I'd start with the egr delete, replace the oil cooler then do a coolant filter. If your up for it do the Head studs they're a good idea. Tuner wise most will tell you not to go with anything except an sct x3 with some custom tunes on it, as for 20mpg, good luck, you can get it if you drive like a g-ma but avg. no...
Old 11-09-2011, 08:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict