Interesting observation - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2011, 05:39 PM
Serving Our Country!

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Interesting observation

As of late I have been plugging in the block heater overnight to keep the engine warm, because it seemed to start easier and lets face it nobody wants to be cold in the morning driving to work. Well here is the observation part last night I left it un-plugged to see how the truck would react, today I go out to start the truck, I wait for the light to go out and turn the key to start and within 5sec the truck is running, now previously with the block heater plugged in it would take 15-20sec to start.

Now onto the interesting part, I am an Navy instructor and I teach Hydraulics, that being said I understand fluid principles and how they work, my only theory for why the truck did what it did goes like this cold oil is thick oil and thick oil has a greater resistance to flow thereby increasing pressure soooo since 6l's require 500psi oil press to start and with cold thick oil I got the required pressure quicker this morning. Nothing wrong here just something weird that I noticed.

btw truck is a 2004 with 146k miles COMPLETELY stock
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2011, 06:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

I've noticed that on mine too sometimes on cold starts it would barely crank and just roll over. I've also noticed on two seperate nights around 30 degrees F, not plugged in, I had a 20 degree temp difference between the two nights. Odd?
Old 11-10-2011, 02:20 AM
Serving Our Country!

same things I have noticed also, wanted to see other peoples experiences/opinions
Old 11-10-2011, 04:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic