Remote Start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 11-05-2011, 12:01 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
strokinallday05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Remote Start

Hey guys I got a remote start/Alarm today and they are gonna hook it up later on this evening. Was wondering what should I tell them? meaning any specifics about our trucks or diesels in general? I already was made aware to tap into the tac wire and not set it to volt sensing (thankx belz) any other tips? Thanks

Chris

strokinallday05 is offline  
post #2 of 10 Old 11-05-2011, 09:22 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
travisH3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 41 Times in 40 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Make sure they put the delay for glow plugs for when it's cold. I got a question too, do all remote starts when u start them and you go to drive off you have to turn it off and restart it to drive?

T-rav
2010 F350 6.4- H&S Single turbo kit, 5" flo pro,No limit SS cold side kit, No Limit intake, MPD billet CCV/oil filler, newton leveling kit, RED Newton traction bars, custom projector retrofit in oem lights and a bunch of LED lights LOL

Holderdown Performance #teamHDP

OUR FLEET: 2015 f450, 2014 Platinum F350, 2012 F450 6.7, 2010 F350 6.4, 2005 F350 6.0, 04 F450 6.0
travisH3 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-05-2011, 09:27 AM
Don't mind me



 
westcoaststrokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 27,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 21 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to westcoaststrokin
Make sure the delay is set for a minute. You have to get in and turn the key on before the truck will move. If you touch the brake without the key in the run position the truck will shut down.

Josh

04 F350 CC SB DRW IT HAS SOME STUFF

"Idiopathic, from the Latin meaning we're idiots cause we can't figure out what's causing it." House M.D.
westcoaststrokin is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-05-2011, 07:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
bfrank81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The max delay my Viper is 20 sec. That is what mine is set to. They have to know how to work with a diesel because something special has to be wired. I think it was a RPM signal from the engine.

Brian


'05 F250 Harley-Davidson

bfrank81 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-05-2011, 10:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Beautiful BC
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Some require a tach signal inverter to operate properly.

1991 Ranger - 38" TSL's, 3 link, One tons, 5.38s on King air shocks....under construction.
1997 Ranger - reg cab flare side, 3.0L, M5OD-R1, 4x4, 31x10.50r15 MT's.
2008 F350 - Crewcab short bed, 6.4L diesel, H&S XRT Pro, AFE DOC/DPF delete
1972 Mustang Coupe - 302, c4, 9", 4.11's locked.
WildStyle is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-07-2011, 06:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arnold
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfrank81 View Post
The max delay my Viper is 20 sec. That is what mine is set to. They have to know how to work with a diesel because something special has to be wired. I think it was a RPM signal from the engine.
Mine is the same, I did a 3 min. cool down. I think mine has a remote tach. or something like that from what the installer said.
slow06stang is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-22-2012, 07:46 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Ignorant2FIVE0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisH3 View Post
Make sure they put the delay for glow plugs for when it's cold. I got a question too, do all remote starts when u start them and you go to drive off you have to turn it off and restart it to drive?
No, once you get in the truck, put the key in, turn to on position and when u hit brake, ull hear it click off.

02 CCLB
Leveling kit
AEM DIY Intake
Remote start
MBRP SS T409 Turbo back Straight pipe
DP-Tuner: Stock, No Start, 60tow, 80 eco and 120 race 280K and counting
Ignorant2FIVE0 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-22-2012, 08:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
headviking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oakville
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine is an AutoPage. I had it installed by qualifies alarm/remote start installers. Has worked without any problems for over 5 years. The AutoPage has a built in setting for diesels and it is set to 40 sec. delay I believe. Has a cool down turbo setting set for 5 min. A setting that will start the truck when the temps reach a set temp. as well.

If your commin, it's over. If your stroken, it's just started.


2007 F250 6.0L PSD Lariat - Dieselsite Coolant Filter - Bilstein Shocks - Blue fuel pressure upgrade spring - Country Duel Steering Stabilizer - Fumoto Oil Drain Valve - HFCM Water Separator Drain Plug Upgrade - ARP studded - Engine Oil (Rotella syth) - Rear Diff. & Front Axle (Royal Purple)
HeadViking
Helpful Links:
6.0 no-start | Check your coolant!
headviking is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-22-2012, 05:24 PM
Member
 
powerstrokin317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: INDIANAPOLIS
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by headviking View Post
Mine is an AutoPage. I had it installed by qualifies alarm/remote start installers. Has worked without any problems for over 5 years. The AutoPage has a built in setting for diesels and it is set to 40 sec. delay I believe. Has a cool down turbo setting set for 5 min. A setting that will start the truck when the temps reach a set temp. as well.
my viper has all the same features.....gotta love it..

LIVE EVERYDAY LIKE IT'S YOUR LAST BECAUSE ONE DAY IT WILL BE!!


So far...ARP studs and OEM head gaskets...sinister coolant filter....edge insight cts.......Diamond eye 4" turbo back dual exhaust (no cat or muffler...gotta love that)....blue spring....elc coolant.....sct running innovative extreme street!!

To do...stereo...wheels and tires...katzkin interior...HID's
powerstrokin317 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-23-2012, 05:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
shiprek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Remote Start

Quote:
Originally Posted by strokinallday05 View Post
Hey guys I got a remote start/Alarm today and they are gonna hook it up later on this evening. Was wondering what should I tell them? meaning any specifics about our trucks or diesels in general? I already was made aware to tap into the tac wire and not set it to volt sensing (thankx belz) any other tips? Thanks
What brand did you go with?

2004 F250 Lariat/6.0L/SRW/Crewcab/Shortbed FX4
EDGE Evolution CTS
Python 424 Remote Start
Volant Ram Air

RCD-EGR Delete
Cat/Muffler Delete
Rancho RS 5000 Shocks
6.4 Banjo Bolts
Throttle Plate Delete
4" Straight Pipe
Updated to "Blue" Fuel Pressure Spring
DIY Coolant Filter

Caterpillar EC-1 "RED"

"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote." - Benjamin Franklin, 1759
shiprek is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome