New to diesels and looking where to start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 05:58 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New to diesels and looking where to start

So i have always wanted a powerstroke for as long as i can remember. After 25 different cars and trucks my wish finally came true! So i bought an 04 F250 6.0 and got a heck of a deal on it. I have done everything from building motors to doing body work and am no rookie to cars but i am a rookie to diesels. So i am a newbie and apologize in advance for any stupid questions lol. I have been doing alot of research on the 6.0 and just the truck in general and after poking around in my engine bay have noticed some changes. Looks like there is a coolant filter and oil charge kit installed, and hard intercooler pipes. Truck has a 4'" turbo back, SCT tuner with DJ diesel custom tunes, EDGE CS monitor, 8" fox 2.0 dual reservoir suspension, 20" WWC Black widows with 37" Pro Comp tires, billet grill, backup sensors, HID headlights and blacked out taillights. And then there is this black switch that revs the engine to 1200 rpm when in neutral as long as the brakes are not applied. So basically im just trying to figure out where i stand and what should be some of my next mods? And also what is the purpose of the black switch? ( i just use it to warm up the truck when its cold in the morning lol). I plan on pulling the rear diff cover this weekend and seeing what gears i have back there as the cover seems to be different then stock. also i was curious is there was a way to tell if the head studs have been done without pulling the heads? Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated! Sorry for the long drawn out post that probably doesn't make any sense but im just really wanting to just dive into this truck because i am a very fast growing enthusiast.i attached a pi