New to diesels, not to DIY - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2011, 04:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New to diesels, not to DIY

Hey all, like the title says I'm new to diesels, I just picked up an 05 Excursion with the 6.0l. I have read the post on bulletproofing the machine (great write-up BTW). So I have a couple of questions, sorry if there is a similar post it existence.

First off, I am having a hard time finding diesel products at auto parts stores, what types of resources are generally available for these type engines? More specifically, I have all the hardwares for a coolant filter job, just no fluids (Restore, Restore+, Rev-x). Side question: (Lowes didn't have 3/8" rubber heater hose, however they had clear reinforced hose of the proper size, I want to say it was vinyl. It was rated for a higher PSI @ 70* than the rubber, it was cheaper, also I was assured by the sales gentleman that it would not be affected by the heat, does this sound legit?)

Secondly I plan on doing a EGR delete, I am thinking this kit: Complete EGR Delete Kit Ford Powerstroke 6.0
anybody had experience with this company?

And finally, I have plans to eventually do a remote oil cooler/spin on filter build. While wondering around the parts stores today I stumbled upon transmission coolers, just small radiators, couldn't one of these be rigged and mounted in tandem with a filter base similar to the one I just got for my coolant filter build?

I realize this is a lot at once but it should keep the thread active for a while.
I plan on keeping the gurus on their toes.

Also I am sure there is a universal forum etiquette and I apologize in advance if I am in violation of said customs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-31-2011, 05:09 PM
information regurgitator