Quick oil pressure question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2011, 08:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Evans, Louisiana
Posts: 583
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quick oil pressure question

I just changed my oil and went with the Rotela T6. My question is, when I crank the truck, it takes a sec for my oil pressure to come up. (The factory guage I mean) Is this normal? It may have done it before, I only drove the truck a few days before I changed the oil. Just wondering if this is normal. Then engine sounds fine as soon as you crank it, the oil pressure needle just doesn't come up for a second or so.... Thanks in advance!! Preston
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-30-2011, 11:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saint Pete, FL
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Misael
Mine does the same thing, also sometimes it takes longer and I get the beep "check gauges" has happened a couple times. Curious to know if it's a common thing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-31-2011, 02:19 AM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,973
Thanks: 3
Thanked 30 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Well it is really an idiot light. There is not really a pressure sensor but a switch. Once it see's 7 lbs or so it says you have oil pressure. Pretty lame POS really.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-31-2011, 02:53 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 652
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
X2 on that, the latest edge cs update claimed a new pid for oil pressure, I downloaded the latest and got nothin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-31-2011, 05:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Evans, Louisiana
Posts: 583
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ah, ok! So it's safe then? Or else we're all in the same boat if its no bueno? Thanks y'all! I feel better!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-31-2011, 06:44 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,930
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Country Mav View Post
Ah, ok! So it's safe then? Or else we're all in the same boat if its no bueno? Thanks y'all! I feel better!
Just one thing to check.. Make sure that the oil filter cap is FORD and that you always use Ford filters. Theres a video somewhere that breaks down the problems with aftermarket oil filters on the 6.0L. Aftermarket oil filter caps and filters are a big no no on the 6.0L. Just a thought
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-31-2011, 12:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Evans, Louisiana
Posts: 583
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The cap doesn't say Ford on it, I don't think.... and I put a purolator filter in it this time... Did I mess up? What's the issue with it? The parts house was out of the Motorcraft filters... Thanks! Preston
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-31-2011, 12:48 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,930
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There is a drain and oil filter bypass built into the oil filter canister. If the oil filter is not the right height or the cap is the wrong height you could be draining the housing all the time or completely bypassing the oil filter all the time. Get a FORD filter and cap ASAP!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-31-2011, 12:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Evans, Louisiana
Posts: 583
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'll get one today! Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-31-2011, 03:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 652
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah mine Pops right up as soon as the motor fires. I use ford caps and racor filters, same as oem. By them from dieselfilteronline.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors