Cold starting.... please look. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2011, 06:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cold starting.... please look.

Hey guys this is my first time owning a diesel and I still have questions about cold starting. Im a senior in High school and at our school parking lot i have no where to plug the truck in. Im worried that it will not fire up at the end of the day when its time to go home. I live in West Virginia and its gets pretty darn cold here and I know its not quite winter time yet, but it will be here before we know it. And I was just wondering and wanting to know if you guys had any tips or advice for me. I've heard several things like switch to 5w 40 oil which i have 15w40 in right now Rotella. And ive also heard cycling the glow plugs which sounds just unnessary to me, but who knows. I've also heard of people using Rev-x or something like that if anyone of you know anything about it please let me know. I'm just scared I will be stuck in the parking lot with a stubborn diesel that wont get me home lol any info would help! Thanks guys Appreciate it!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-29-2011, 08:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict