New Brake Rotor Turned Blue (Heat) in 8-miles, Keep Using or Replace? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2011, 07:24 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New Brake Rotor Turned Blue (Heat) in 8-miles, Keep Using or Replace?

So I changed all four rotors (Motorcraft) & Pads (Wagner ThermoQuiet)and flushed the brake fluid.

Took a test drive afterwards (8-miles total). Brakes worked as expected, but when I returned I "smelled something". I immediately went around & started checkin each wheel ... all were good except the right rear.

Apparently I have a sticky caliper or a collapsed brake line (haven't quite narrowed it 100% but I'm pinning it on the caliper) ... the new pad must of dragged on the new rotor for the entire 8-miles. The heat was enough to turn the rotor blue.

I'm no expert on this, so I'm asking ... should I correct the problem & continue using the pad & rotor that was heated? Or, is it recommeded to replace everything if the rotor turned blue??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2011, 04:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Well you can just have the rotor turned down and it should be ok. I would think you could just grind down some of the brake pad to get the glaze off if you dont want to get new pads.
I need new rotors and pads all around..How much did it cost you in parts?
Old 07-11-2011, 04:04 AM

Also dont forget when you install new pads and rotors you have to break them in. That includes getting up to 45mph and hitting the brakes hard till you come to alomost a complete stop then get back up to 45mph again and stop again and you do this 4-6 times. Then let it cool for abit and your brakes are ready to go.
Old 07-13-2011, 06:58 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie