Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Temporary, muffler delete on stock exhaust?

13K views 18 replies 10 participants last post by  smokersteve 
#1 ·
Just wondering if someone makes a muffler delete for a stock exhaust system or if anyone has a home made tip?? Thanks

#2 ·
Since the stock exhaust enters and exits the muffler staggered, there isn't one pipe anyone makes that would work. You can just cut the muffler out with a sawzall(as close to the muffler as possible), and clamp in a 2' piece of 3 1/2" flex pipe.

#3 ·
So simple bolting? no welding? and where can I get the fllexpipe? Thanks

#4 ·
Yup, no welding. Just 2 band clamps and the flex pipe.

Any big rig shop or International dealer will have it

#8 ·
Its pure diesel powers factory muffler delete.

If the OP is interested I have one I'll sell him

#7 ·
rowcoach, your link doesn't work

#9 ·
I'm a union electrician and I was in the same boat...didn't feel like dropping a bunch of cash for an exhaust right now, so i had a muffler shop buy a piece of 3.5'' pipe and i bent it myself. If you know any industrial electricians i'm sure they'd do it for ya. Steel flex is definately temporary, will rust out quick.

#11 · (Edited)
didn't feel like dropping a bunch of cash for an exhaust.
Same here.
When I got my delete pipes, the 4" systems were $300+. I did not want to spend that much when I could spend ~$100 for delete pipes that drop temps just as much as 4" does for trucks under 500hp, and have more low end TQ than 4" allows.

#12 ·
Yes it is the same size as 3.5" EMT, but i don't know of the offset right off hand; sorry.

#13 ·