FICM Problem!! Please Help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-19-2011, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eureka MT
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
FICM Problem!! Please Help

Hi, i just did an egr delete on a truck. It went real smooth. When i got all done and went to start it would not fire.

My scanner is showing codes p1378 and p1000.

The ficm logic voltage is at min. 10. which i believe is the problem.

The whole job went so smooth i can't think of what it could be.

It is an 06 6.0L. I have checked the logic fuss under the hood. And the ficm relay.

Any suggestions would be awesome. I am assuming it must be a wire rub or something like that, or a fuss i didn't check maybe. Maybe it's plug i forgot to plug back in or a ground wire not on.

Really driving me crazy though.

Thanks a ton in advance.
jbenford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-19-2011, 04:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
JasonAmericanBulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Delaware
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
did you pull the intake manifold, if so you may have forgotten the ground that goes on the very back stud on the drivers side? or maybe batteries were too low on power, cranking on low batteries kills the ficm

Totalled
JasonAmericanBulldog is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-19-2011, 05:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eureka MT
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I didn't pull the intake, just loosened it. I checked that ground 10 times I think. Are there any grounds our wires under the batteries? I was kind of sitting in the holes with the batteries out. Anything under there?
jbenford is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 06-19-2011, 05:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
ToolmanGary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check your connectors on the FICM. Are you using a scanner that can read the data stream? to check FICM voltages. If you are using a code reader it may not pull all the codes.
ToolmanGary is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-19-2011, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eureka MT
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Weird thing is I never unhooked it but I will check them. I am using an ae scan tool so it is reading all data. My logic voltage is at min. 10.
jbenford is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-19-2011, 06:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
ToolmanGary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you seeing FICM voltage above 45VDC on one line? I have a Snap On scanner and there is a few lines of voltages you can read. I'm thinking you have a problem with the FICM, IDK for sure.
ToolmanGary is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-19-2011, 06:22 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eureka MT
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
48 on main voltage. 10 on logic
jbenford is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-19-2011, 07:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eureka MT
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I figured it out. Took a little break and went back to it. I took the batteries out and looked around. I found a connector on the drivers side firewall not pushed all the way in. It must have been loose before and when I was in the engine I pulled on it just enough to make it not start. Lesson learned, Always check all connections, even the ones you don't touch before you panic at a no start.

Thanks for the help guys
jbenford is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-22-2011, 07:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Galaxie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Robinson Twp PA (Pittsburgh)
Posts: 4,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Galaxie
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenford View Post
I figured it out. Took a little break and went back to it. I took the batteries out and looked around. I found a connector on the drivers side firewall not pushed all the way in. It must have been loose before and when I was in the engine I pulled on it just enough to make it not start. Lesson learned, Always check all connections, even the ones you don't touch before you panic at a no start.

Thanks for the help guys
Good to hear! Which connector?

Colin
59-68Galaxies, Fairlanes
54 Ford Skyliner Glass Top
60 Country Sedan Wagon
87/93 5.0s 347
Buy/Sell/Trade/Service 40s50s60s cars!
06 F350 Dark Stone XLT FX4
SCTX3 Custom Tunes
ARP Head Studs
EGR Cooler gone
MBRP Stright Pipe
Edge Insight
20" Harleys 35" AT2
2011 Tailgate
Eaton TrueTrac
2" Leveling
Black Windows/lights
Blue Spring
03 Turbo
Galaxie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome