EGT Probe ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2011, 05:56 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho NM
Posts: 581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
EGT Probe ?

I installed my Autometer EGT gauge this weekend. It was a lot easier than I expected. One problem the hole that the EGT probe goes through is a little larger than the probe so you can feel exhaust coming through. How can I seal it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:12 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
There are two styles. Which one do you have?

1- the probe goes thru the fitting and is locked in place with a set screw.

1- the probe goes thru the fitting and is locked in place with a compression nut. (swagelok)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:26 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho NM
Posts: 581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
There are two styles. Which one do you have?

1- the probe goes thru the fitting and is locked in place with a set screw.

1- the probe goes thru the fitting and is locked in place with a compression nut. (swagelok)
I have "the probe goes thru the fitting and is locked in place with a set screw".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:33 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,064
Thanks: 13
Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
It should have come with a ceramic washer that is designed to help seal the hole.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:39 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho NM
Posts: 581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Eye View Post
It should have come with a ceramic washer that is designed to help seal the hole.
I thought so too. I did not find one nor do the installation instructions reference it. Where can I get one?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:46 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,064
Thanks: 13
Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Mine came with my kit. Maybe try contacting AutoMeter or the dealer you bought the kit from.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-13-2011, 07:09 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho NM
Posts: 581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Eye View Post
Mine came with my kit. Maybe try contacting AutoMeter or the dealer you bought the kit from.
Will do. Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-13-2011, 07:38 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho NM
Posts: 581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just called Autometer the ceramic washer is not used in the in fitting with a set screw.
The Autometer tech said a leak can happen and over time soot will build up and plug the leak. Is this an acceptable answer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-13-2011, 08:03 AM
Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Magnolia, DE
Posts: 786
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am sure they are correct. If the gaps are small enough, the soot should build up and plug it. You would have thought that their intentional design would have been better than relying on "soot plug"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-13-2011, 08:26 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho NM
Posts: 581
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubalz View Post
I am sure they are correct. If the gaps are small enough, the soot should build up and plug it. You would have thought that their intentional design would have been better than relying on "soot plug"
Agree 100%. If Autometer machined the plug to tighter tolerances this would not be an issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors