Not much power and no codes! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2011, 09:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Elk Point, Alberta
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Not much power and no codes!

Like the title says I have lost most of my power. I have had a new hpop and IPR put in last week and the head gaskets were done in March. When they were done all the normal high pressure items were replaced stand pipes, stc fitting and dummy plugs. Now when I give it some throttle I only get 3700psi and 4.2V-4.4V to the IPR and the truck is a real dog, it builds 22psi of boost and thats about it. I got my fuel pressure sender hooked up to my Insight and the fuel pressure is great 65psi idle and 55psi WOT. This is all while the truck is stock ecm programming with all of the mods in my sig. Also eot and ect are right where they need to be, no pukeing, no smoke and when I am easy on the throttle it drives pretty normal.

I am my wits end with this Ex!!!
Where do I go with this thing next?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-11-2011, 04:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Thanks: 6
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What are you using to read codes? If it is the SCT, then you should trry something else. The SCT doesn't always pick up codes that are there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-11-2011, 04:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Elk Point, Alberta
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
AutoEnginuity and my Insight CS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-11-2011, 05:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Thanks: 6
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You don't get much higher than 3700 psig in the HPO system. Sounds like a turbo issue - sticking vanes or an issue w/ the VGT actuator.

Have you verified that MAP, Baro, and EBP all read within 0.5 psig of each other at KOEO?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-11-2011, 05:37 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Elk Point, Alberta
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yes the map, baro and ebp are the same. I just got the powermax in March when the head studs were done. I guess I could slap the stock turbo back in and see what happens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-11-2011, 05:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,528
Thanks: 6
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I wish I knew of a way to troubleshoot the VGT actuator. Maybe a Tech has some tips for doing this at the house ....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-11-2011, 05:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Elk Point, Alberta
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I could try with the AE and command the vgt from 0% to 100% a few times.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-11-2011, 06:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Belview MN
Posts: 1,286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I am having the exact ame issue with my truck.... mine will only build about 20 psi.... when i first put the powermax on it would make about 29 psi... i will be watching this thread to see what you find out since we have the exact same mods except for my airdog2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-11-2011, 06:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Elk Point, Alberta
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I am not going to be able to get to the Ex until after 7 tonight as I am at work.
When I command the vgt to full open or full closed I am guessing that I should hear it start to whistle really good?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-11-2011, 06:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Elk Point, Alberta
Posts: 673
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Could I swap in the vgt actuator from my stock turbo to the powermax?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors