AE Wont connect to PCM - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2011, 09:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
AE Wont connect to PCM

i am trying to check my truck for codes and look at a couple other things but i cant get the AE to connect to the truck. I have the Enhanced Ford Bundle but it wont connect, i set it at J1850 PMW and OBDII Compliant and it wont connect to the truck. when i use NON OBDII Compliant it will connect to the truck but i cant open generic powertrain, Enhanced Can, or any other option. WTH is wrong with this thing!?!?!? or what m i doing wrong?!?!?
Thanks
Beef
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-06-2011, 09:26 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Is this the first time you used it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-06-2011, 09:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
me yes, but my brother has used it on both my 03 and his 03 6.0s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-06-2011, 09:45 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Alot of times the Auto Detect don't work, you need to manually select CAN support. While still hooked to truck, top left of screen "disconnect" from vehicle. Then goto "communications Configuation" to manually select the CAN interface. Then I believe, I went back to "connect to vehicle". A window pops up going thru the check list, then another window pops up checking for sensor configuration. After that, it will ask you if you want to check for codes "All", "Current","None".

It's hard to remember without it in front of me, but it sounds like you were trying to use the J1850, when you should be using CAN.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-06-2011, 09:50 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
When you get it working, here are some Tips & Tricks.
AutoEnginuity Tips or Tricks

This is also handy.
http://forum.gopowerhungry.com/autoe...stic-software/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-07-2011, 04:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
Alot of times the Auto Detect don't work, you need to manually select CAN support. While still hooked to truck, top left of screen "disconnect" from vehicle. Then goto "communications Configuation" to manually select the CAN interface. Then I believe, I went back to "connect to vehicle". A window pops up going thru the check list, then another window pops up checking for sensor configuration. After that, it will ask you if you want to check for codes "All", "Current","None".

It's hard to remember without it in front of me, but it sounds like you were trying to use the J1850, when you should be using CAN.
That sounds about like the right procedure right off the top of my head as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-07-2011, 06:07 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,061
Thanks: 13
Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
Alot of times the Auto Detect don't work, you need to manually select CAN support. While still hooked to truck, top left of screen "disconnect" from vehicle. Then goto "communications Configuation" to manually select the CAN interface. Then I believe, I went back to "connect to vehicle". A window pops up going thru the check list, then another window pops up checking for sensor configuration. After that, it will ask you if you want to check for codes "All", "Current","None".

It's hard to remember without it in front of me, but it sounds like you were trying to use the J1850, when you should be using CAN.
Damn, you remembered that without it being in front of you.... I must be getting old...

That sounds right. I think F4 is the communications configuration, so you can just press F4 and it brings up the screen to change it to CAN.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-07-2011, 06:41 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Eye View Post
Damn, you remembered that without it being in front of you.... I must be getting old... CAN.
Ha Ha!! My memory won't be here much longer, I turn 40 in August, they say it's all down hill after that!! LOL!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-07-2011, 12:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
Alot of times the Auto Detect don't work, you need to manually select CAN support. While still hooked to truck, top left of screen "disconnect" from vehicle. Then goto "communications Configuation" to manually select the CAN interface. Then I believe, I went back to "connect to vehicle". A window pops up going thru the check list, then another window pops up checking for sensor configuration. After that, it will ask you if you want to check for codes "All", "Current","None".

It's hard to remember without it in front of me, but it sounds like you were trying to use the J1850, when you should be using CAN.
Ok, i selected CAN and OBDII Non Compliant, i got another popup that had the selections, i entered Ford, 2003, Powerstroke 6.0 and Enhanced Powertrain and get a message that says

"Communication could not be established with the controller. Check the Connection or Validate the vehicle has support for the controller."

Now what???
Thanks for the help Guys!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-07-2011, 01:31 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I believe you want to use CAN and OBDII Compliant.
If you don't have the user manual, you can bring it up on your PC.
Here's the link from Autoenginuity.
http://www.autoenginuity.com/dloads/...user_guide.pdf

Does all three lights come on in the Pro-Line connector? The Pro-line connector is what you plug into the OBDII port. There should be red, yellow, and green showing. If not you have a bad connection. Check your cigarette lighter, it uses the same fuse as the OBDII power supply.

Also there are people out in the Internet who make copies of the disk that are no good. The disk and hardware have to be original to use the activation code when the PC was set up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors