Go back to stock before Edge CS install? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2011, 08:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 339
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Go back to stock before Edge CS install?

I understand if it is just covering their rear when they say in the Edge CS user guide you must remove the program and programmer from the truck before installing the CS, just in case you screw something up. But since it is only a monitoring device, with the ability to change some things, is it imperative to set the SCT X3 back to stock? I had it reset so there are no unlocks used and would prefer to keep it that way if possible. Besides, after putting the CS in, I would be putting the SCT X3 right back in, with an IDP tune...

Put it back to stock or not?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-19-2011, 08:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: WB, MI
Posts: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to teamcasslake
i just installed my cts without putting back to stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-19-2011, 10:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 267
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Like you said its just a monitering device, i installed mine and didnt return my truck to stock-no issues.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-20-2011, 03:07 AM
The Silent Service

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 28 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You have to take the cable off the OBII port anyway to reflash with the SCT. I think its EDGE covering themselves. I've had no issues with my Insight, and it was put on after the tunes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-20-2011, 03:34 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio TX ..
Posts: 2,512
Thanks: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's good to refresh the tune anyways you notice the difference .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-20-2011, 05:19 AM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 30 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
That's because of the Dmax. You can ignore it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-20-2011, 05:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 339
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Thanks guys, much appreciated. Was anxious to get it on and see what my delta was but it won't read the vin. It wants me to use to software to enter it. Ugh... was really curious about the delta... Oh we'll hopefully after work I can get time to do it. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-20-2011, 06:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 339
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Hickman View Post
It's good to refresh the tune anyways you notice the difference .
You mean set it back to stock, then put it back on to whatever tune you were running? I assume this is because when you first install the tune, it runs great, but after time and the trucks' computer "learning" it gets a little lazy? If that is what you mean, that makes sense. Always learning here!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors