Re-gearing with STOCK size tires - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2011, 06:05 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Re-gearing with STOCK size tires

Hey guys,

I have been thinking about re-gearing my truck axles from 3.73 to 4.10 or 4.30 in order to get a better start from a stand still and climbing steep hills around my home when pulling heavy trailers (not overloading, just near Max GCW). I know this kinda goes against good practice right now with fuel prices rising but I would like to get better torque multiplication. I don't drive more than 70 mph on the highways anyway because my fuel economy tanks above 70, so the higher revs won't be too high for my liking.

So here is my question....If I were to regear my D60 and Sterling 10.5 to 4.10 or 4.30 gears, can I recalibrate the PCM to show the correct vehicle speed on the speedometer or do I need to run an SCT, EDGE, or BANKS tuner to do this? Is this something the dealership can help me with or am I on my own?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-15-2011, 06:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: All over the dang place
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check out superlifts website. They have a controller box that hardwires between the speed sensor and the PCM. I use one on my truck and it has two positions so you can run different tire sizes at the flip of a switch. You can live calibrate the box with a jewelers screw driver and it's infinentely adjustable. They're about $200.

There may be other similar products but that's all that I'm familiar with.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-15-2011, 06:51 AM
The Silent Service

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 30 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its defiantly against the grain, but maybe I can help ya. I have factory 4.30's in my truck, and your mileage will tank hard if you drop that low in gearing. Stock programing was around 11-13 in the city and 14-15.5 out on the interstates. Both of those values are empty, you will find that the 4.30 gears don't drop as much under a load as the higher ratios do. I'm getting a little better tuned, but I gather you're not looking to put a programmer in your truck. Also, I'm running 2000rpms at 60mph, and 2500rpms at 75mph. As for getting off the line, the 4.30's will get that truck moving. If you regear, the dealership should be able to correct your speedometer without any problems. Think long and hard about regearing, and it goes without saying keep the stock parts in the event you want to go back to it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-15-2011, 09:03 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironmover View Post
Check out superlifts website. They have a controller box that hardwires between the speed sensor and the PCM. I use one on my truck and it has two positions so you can run different tire sizes at the flip of a switch. You can live calibrate the box with a jewelers screw driver and it's infinentely adjustable. They're about $200.

There may be other similar products but that's all that I'm familiar with.
Thanks, I will look into that. I did not realize there was a simple aftermarket solution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by colo_dually View Post
Its defiantly against the grain, but maybe I can help ya. I have factory 4.30's in my truck, and your mileage will tank hard if you drop that low in gearing. Stock programing was around 11-13 in the city and 14-15.5 out on the interstates. Both of those values are empty, you will find that the 4.30 gears don't drop as much under a load as the higher ratios do. I'm getting a little better tuned, but I gather you're not looking to put a programmer in your truck. Also, I'm running 2000rpms at 60mph, and 2500rpms at 75mph. As for getting off the line, the 4.30's will get that truck moving. If you regear, the dealership should be able to correct your speedometer without any problems. Think long and hard about regearing, and it goes without saying keep the stock parts in the event you want to go back to it.
That information is very helpful. You are correct I would like to avoid tuners. Believe me, I'm giving this alot of thought before I do it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors