Should you replace batteries in pairs?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2011, 06:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Greenwood, IN
Posts: 226
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Should you replace batteries in pairs??

THe previous owner of my Ex replaced only one of the batteries. I have been told that if you dont replace them in pairs that the new one wont be able to handle all the draw and both will go dead... ??? I am currently experiencing battery issues.. Charged them yesterday and today when I got home they were dead. One is the original battery...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-10-2011, 06:10 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rio Rancho NM
Posts: 576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How old are the batts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-10-2011, 06:14 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,303
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I do . I have been told enough times it's necessary that I just do it .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-10-2011, 06:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bluefield VA
Posts: 503
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I say yes replace both. The old battery will pull the new battery down. About a month after I bought my truck I had a battery go bad and as bad as I hated to replace a good battery I went ahead and replaced both.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-10-2011, 07:20 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,674
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Always replace in pairs!!! When the new batteries are installed, check to be sure the alternator isn't damaged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-10-2011, 09:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 279
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
x3?4?

nothing like replacing one(i know their not cheap!) and getting 3k miles down the road and having the second go. Ask me how i know. Its a PITA.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-11-2011, 02:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Greenwood, IN
Posts: 226
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertSmoker View Post
How old are the batts?
One was replaced by original owner maybe 6 months ago and the other is original...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-11-2011, 03:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesco4 View Post
I say yes replace both. The old battery will pull the new battery down. About a month after I bought my truck I had a battery go bad and as bad as I hated to replace a good battery I went ahead and replaced both.
Absolutely. It's not that the new battery can't handle the load by itself; it's the fact that the old battery will pull the new battery down to somewhere slightly above it's own level. They WILL seek equilibrium with each other.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-11-2011, 04:15 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,015
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Always Always Always replace them in pairs. If ones bad it overloads and takes out the other one
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-11-2011, 09:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont know if you have a Costco near you however i got two 1000 cold cranking amp, 850 cranking amps which have an 8 year warranty on them for $170 yesturday. Also while i was putting them in while still in the parking lot i saw an international truck their which makes me think they make them for costco.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors