DIY'er new to diesels to perform EGR surgery - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2011, 03:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DIY'er new to diesels to perform EGR surgery

Hey ya'll. So I'm a new PSD owner and brand new to owning a diesel engine. I dont particularly know alot about disassembling an engine, but being a welder by trade, I figure I know enough about tools and dismanteling processes that I can tackle installing a BP EGR delete kit as well as a few other mods.

Since I purchased the truck 2 months ago I installed a 4" MBRP turbo back w/ cat delete and installed an edge insight cts, which took me the afternoon to finish. But this will be a weekend operation and time is definitley critical as I use the truck for work in the week. I will be replacing the EGR as I said, as well as installing an OEM oil cooler, dieselsite coolant system, upgraded turbo drain, as well as a restore flush to make way for some zerex elc. (maybe tap for a pyrometer too?)

Can someone maybe give me a 1-10 on the ol difficulty scale and maybe some tips or advice? Rock on!

Last edited by tonto; 04-25-2011 at 03:22 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2011, 04:30 PM
Powerstroke Techie

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
10 being the hardest, I give it a 5-6. I had the oil/fuel filter tower, turbo, and intake off in 1.5 hours. It's not a hard to do project and can be done in a week-end. Start your flushing Friday when you get home from work, the flushing takes up alot of time.
Old 04-25-2011, 04:55 PM

Did mine two weeks ago I would give it a 7 since your new to the disassemble process. It took me 3 days total but I took my time and did other stuff to.
Old 04-25-2011, 05:26 PM

Feedback Score: 1 reviews