Did I make a mistake? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2011, 04:14 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did I make a mistake?

I just traded in my 2000 f250 7.3 which ran awesome, however the "ford cancer" got the best of her! So after searching i decided to by an 07 f350 6.0 Outlaw Edition. The truck looks sweet, drives strong, however, i keep hearing of all these issues with the HG's, bolts, coolers, etc. I am a newbie to this site so excuse me if this has been covered. What should i be most concerned with? I drive alot, tow a travel trailer, boat and equipment for my job. Kinda scared to tow at the moment. Truck has 83K miles. Should I drive it hard "like nomal" and hope something fails before warranty is up? Any help would be great. Also, it has a turbo gauge (not sure where normal is). what gauges should i get?

Jeff
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-24-2011, 04:20 PM
Mod Newbie

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
You want to be able to monitor EOT (Engine Oil Temp.) and ECT (Engine Coolant Temp.) for sure. You don't want to see more than a 15 difference between the two, that will indicate an oil cooler is restricted which causes all the other issues. I suggest an Edge Insight CS or CTS for the gauges. As far as head gaskets, cooler failures, do a complete coolant flush with Restore and Restore Plus to get the Ford Gold coolant out and refill with a CAT certified ELC coolant with an EC-1 rating. Also suggest installing a coolant filtration system.
Old 04-24-2011, 04:53 PM
Premium Member