Hey guys, I need some of your expertise ! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2011, 10:13 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey guys, I need some of your expertise !

Hey guys, I need some advice... I'm somewhat new to the Diesel scene, I have an 04 F250 and I use it to haul across the country.

I just bought it a few months ago as i had an 03 that was stolen last year. anyway it had 300,000 KM on it when i bought it but i got a pretty good deal so thats why i did. paid 10,000 CAD for it. I figured it was due for head gaskets and sure enough i blew them lol

I also blew my trans trying to tow it to the dealer when it broke down, anyway the dealer put a FQR trans in it(6,000) and now they are going to do my head gaskets... I already know to do the EGR delete and ARP head studs with it. total for this job is going to cost me around 13 - 15 grand. Is this money well spent in correcting the faults of the early powerstrokes or is there something else i should do or just get rid of the truck ?

Keep in mind the truck is my money making tool and when its all said and done i will have 23 grand into an 04 with a brand new tranny and all the engine work done as well as all new injectors. alot of people have said just to scrap the truck... but i love my ford and as long as i can stay major issue free for a couple years it will pay itself off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2011, 10:20 AM
Unapologetically American

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
I think as long as its a quality shop, you should be good to go

Make sure they replace the oil cooler too!!!!