Powerstroke Newbie Introduction - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2011, 01:20 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Powerstroke Newbie Introduction

As the title says. I am a total newbie to the powerstroke engines. I am an over the road truck driver and have been for almost 7 years. As far as a personal truck I have never owned a diesel. Since that part is out of the way I want to say I know my way around tools. We use to race stock cars and I have build quite a few small blocks. I also worked part time for a mechanic doing everything from oil changes to restoration.

I just bought a 2005 F-250 SD with the 6.0L PSD, 5 speed auto, Crew Cab. When I got the truck it had 129217 miles on it and had be driven by a 60 year old man who used it to pull a camper. I think I got it for a steal but that is just me. Walked away with it for $16500.00.

I am getting ready to do a full service and want to know some idea's from you all. I live in north missouri and don't pull heavy loads very often (Other than the associational cummins :-) ) I am thinking of using Rotella T6 oil, but I am not sure if I should buy motorcraft oil filters or Racor filters. I am also wanting to change the fluid in the trans since it has never been done but don't know if I want to pay the dealership $165 for a trans flush or just change the filters and fluid. Also I have read that some people say only to use the motorcraft fluid and others say you can use other brands. Also is it better to use the motorcraft fuel filters or the racor. I want to save money if I can but I don't want it to cost me more in the long run. I am also looking at draining and refilling the diff's. What would you recommend for gear oil?