upfitters in an 04 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2011, 11:17 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeast South Dakota
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
upfitters in an 04

Hey guys

As you can see in my avatar pic I had a pretty bad accident (cut my leg off in a combine corn head, then had it reattached, just showed the x-ray in my avatar, that piece of titanium would have bought several new 6.7s )

So I've had some time to read, managed to swap my dash for an 05 dash in the parking lot of the appartment building I'm staying at for rehab, and now I want to put the upfitter switches in.

I know I can buy the kit, the question is are the fuse panels the same from year to year. When I did the dash swap I put all the 04 wiring in the 05 dash then bolted back in.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-25-2011, 11:27 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,294
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
the fuse boxes are different. However you can still do it. You would have to run a keyed 50 amp power source back from the battery
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-25-2011, 02:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 669
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadduckgts View Post
Hey guys

As you can see in my avatar pic I had a pretty bad accident (cut my leg off in a combine corn head, then had it reattached, just showed the x-ray in my avatar, that piece of titanium would have bought several new 6.7s )
OMG. I am assuming that the corn head was running? I don't know how many people realize how a corn head strips the ears off the stalk.....but since I do.....just the thought makes me nauscious! Dude....I hope you get to recovering quickly!!! Will make me now think more than twice when leaving the cab and going onto the platform with anything engaged let alone the motor running!

Take care.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-25-2011, 05:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeast South Dakota
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes it was running, and it was one of those accidents that was never going to happen to me because I was fast enough to get out of the way. Guess nobody told the combine how fast I was. Next time I will make sure to send the combine an e-mail so it is properly informed. Let my mistake be a lesson that it can happen anytime, I was lucky, I still have my leg and my life, could have gone tthe other direction very quickly.

It happened Oct. 20 and I am doing very well. took my first steps with only a cane (my pimp stick) in early Jan. Should be able to walk by planting season.

Thanks for the well wishes!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-25-2011, 05:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,493
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
good god son........combines are NASTY MEAN...........glad you are doing well though. Dave is correct on the wiring. I would use a heavy duty relay rated for constant duty though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeast South Dakota
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what I'm thinking, stopped at the local dealership today with part numbers in hand and they were not super helpful with my request of ordering my upfitter (or outfitter or uplifter or whatever else the parts guy called it today) package. So I think I will order it online and then wire the power supply as you guys have suggested.

Any ideas where to find a relay big enough to do the job?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 669
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadduckgts View Post
Yes it was running, and it was one of those accidents that was never going to happen to me because I was fast enough to get out of the way. Guess nobody told the combine how fast I was. Next time I will make sure to send the combine an e-mail so it is properly informed. Let my mistake be a lesson that it can happen anytime, I was lucky, I still have my leg and my life, could have gone tthe other direction very quickly.

It happened Oct. 20 and I am doing very well. took my first steps with only a cane (my pimp stick) in early Jan. Should be able to walk by planting season.

Thanks for the well wishes!!!!!!!!
Farmer to farmer....you are darn lucky that's for sure! Years ago I was harvesting beans and the head kept getting plugged at the auger. I was frustrated beyond words. Usually I would shut down the machine (except the engine was idling), clean it out and then engage the machine and the head. But after it plugging up enough times, one time I let the system run just had the head shut off. Farmer nearby stopped to chat and told me....STOOOPID idea....that the head switch is just a magnet and could engage at any time. Needless to say, never did that again for it was an eye opener.

Guess you cannot guess by my login name my favorite machine.

Anyway, best of luck to you. I too have an '04 and looking for upfitter switches. So I'm listening to what others are offering.

Take care. Phil
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,493
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I like stancor (white rodgers)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:30 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeast South Dakota
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Where do I buy this stancor relay? Maybe just point me in a direction.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-25-2011, 07:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,493
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
70-902 Stancor General Purpose / Industrial Relays
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors