Overtune??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 02-22-2011, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
Serving Our Country!
bozzo152's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: savannah
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Just recieved my SCT livewire with only Cann Tunes. I've loaded, tested, returned to stock, changed settings, reloaded, multiple times. So my question is now, with doing all that, does that overtune the truck? With that, could it make the truck feel sloppy/different/not as strong as it was on day one.

2006 KR
4"mbrp no cat
afe stage 2 intake
sct tuner
smoke switch

bozzo152 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 02-22-2011, 06:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
Ironmover's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: All over the dang place
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Some guys have asked this before or more along the lines of the tune loosing the oomf it originally had after several loads.

I haven't loaded and re-loaded too many times yet but I will disconnect the batteries so the truck can do a re-learn. I don't know if that really has any effect or if the way you stated your question causes any complications. I think it's perfectly fine to re-load and mess around without any problems and I haven't read anything factual about any side effects.

Stock sucks
More torque pleeze

21st century participant of the 2nd amendment
Ironmover is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-23-2011, 11:14 AM
Super Moderator

PGreenSVT's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 44 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Ironmover is right. Your truck has to relearn some things when you change the tune. It takes about 35 miles or so of driving in varied conditions for the tranny to relearn. Also when you first upgrade from stock the difference is new and more noticeable. After a bit of time with a new tune you get used to it. I have only put my truck back to stock once in 2.5 years and that was to get some warranty work done. I reset it in the dealers parking lot and loaded my tune back in before I left with it.
PGreenSVT is offline  
Sponsored Links

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome