Non-factory warranty, how have they worked for you? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2011, 09:37 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Non-factory warranty, how have they worked for you?

I recently bought a used 2004 F-250, 6.0, CC, LB, FX4. When signing the papers the bank mentioned their recommended warranty company. The warranty is called Elite Plus MBI coverage, and is offered through CARDIF PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY.

Reading through all the legalize, the only exclusions that concern me are coverage for non-lubricated engine parts, and emissions equipment. They have optional coverages you can purchase for extra $$$. One of them is for emissions coverage. It covers everything except catalytic converters, exhaust systems and carburetors?!?.

I am not a lawyer and chances are you aren't either, but do you think that this warranty, with the optional emissions coverage, will cover the common 6.0 blues? I mean injectors, FICM, FICM wiring harness, EGR cooler, oil cooler, HPOP, and the super cool oil leak near my bell housing (that has yet to leave a drop of oil on my driveway).

What has been your experience with factory and non factory warranties? I want to hear the good, the bad and the ugly. I can add the cost to the end of my loan easily enough, but I may not be able to pay for new injectors or bulletproofing my oil/EGR system if the occasion arises. Also, do these companies perform an inspection of the vehicle when you buy the warranty? If so, any recommendations on how to clean up the oil coming from the bottom of the engine before the inspection? It's not bad yet, but in my experience oil leaks never get any better on their own.

Thank you and happy hauling.

Last edited by BLD; 02-21-2011 at 09:41 PM. Reason: Inspection ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message