High idle mod write up? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2011, 09:58 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
High idle mod write up?

Hey guys, I've tried searching around here for the past few days and haven't been able to locate a write up for the high idle mod.
Can one of you guys be so kind as to point me in the right direction?

Thanks
Sean
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-12-2011, 10:10 PM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,725
Thanks: 6
Thanked 114 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dz4swamper View Post
Hey guys, I've tried searching around here for the past few days and haven't been able to locate a write up for the high idle mod.
Can one of you guys be so kind as to point me in the right direction?

Thanks
Sean
Here you go. High Idle Mod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-12-2011, 11:06 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks a ton!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-13-2011, 02:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 276
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
why would an average person want this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-13-2011, 02:18 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,213
Thanks: 1
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humvette View Post
why would an average person want this?
Too make us feel above average! jk!

Quicker warm ups. (even though the truck will idle up on it's own when cold)

Jump starting a friends Ram.

Keep a/c going for when you want to "run in for something".

Something to use an "upfitter " switch for.

Coolant change.

Just another option to have.

And it is a very inexpensive mod to do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-13-2011, 03:38 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Humvette View Post
why would an average person want this?
It helps to prevent wet stacking during extended idling. Thats the main reason I'm doing it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-13-2011, 11:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,089
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by amdriven2liv View Post
Jump starting a friends Ram.
Awesome.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:10 PM
Fan-of-the-Man3
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bethel CT
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to fanoftheman3
Does anybody have the info for the high idle mod for '04 with a 6 sd?
I can find it for the '05, but the wiring harness is different on the '04
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-13-2011, 10:15 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just another quick question, what type of switch have you guys used? I have a momentary switch that I can put in, or does it need a toggle switch? As I read the write up it seemed to me like a momentary switch would be fine as it just needs to see 12v for the rpms to kick up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-14-2011, 06:25 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,213
Thanks: 1
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I used a toggle with a LED light. Try the momentary switch, and give us some feed back on how it worked.


EDIT: today some time, I will do a momentary flick of the toggle to see if that works!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors