Can I raise the idle W/Autoenginuity - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2011, 11:22 AM
Fan-of-the-Man3
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bethel CT
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to fanoftheman3
Can I raise the idle W/Autoenginuity

I am going to do a complete cooling system flush this weekend. I'll start w/Restore, distilled water flush, VC9, then new coolant.
Wanted to find out if I can raise the RPM's up w/Autoenginuity scanner. This would save a lot of driving around to do the flush correctly. I hear this could take 4 to 6 hrs., this is a six-pack job.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-07-2011, 11:23 AM
Fan-of-the-Man3
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bethel CT
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to fanoftheman3
If NO. Any other suggestions would be helpful.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:09 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Carlton Oregon
Posts: 440
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just finished mine, well on the last flush.

1st dont use distilled water till last flush after your VC 9 or your wasting your money.

2nd Restore and hose water.

3rd when i flushed mine i just opened the radiator pet**** plug and then put the garden hose in the de gas bottle and let it run for like 30 minutes.

4th after that i added my VC9 2 quarts. Then graden hose water. drove it for 90 minutes as i was tired of being home all day.

Lastly drained that and Now im using only distiled water to flush the VC9 out so i can add the new coolant.

Dont forget to remove the T Stat as this makes the fill run for 5 minutes and drain faster, or like me allows the use of the garden hose and radiator drain at the same time.

Lastly to keep the truck from idleing for so dam long, i took my long breaker bar and wedged it between the gas pedal and front seat then adjusted the power seat till i was at the rps i wanted. Worked like a charm. Even the neighbor closed there garage door LOL
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:26 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What year is your truck? maybe do the high idle mod for the flush?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-07-2011, 05:09 PM
Fan-of-the-Man3
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bethel CT
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to fanoftheman3
'04 f350. I was thinking about doing the high idle upgrade. Maybe I'll do that 1st
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-07-2011, 07:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes you can raise the idle speed with AE on the dockable actuation page. You simply select that option by clicking on idle RPM and then enable the action. You can also click on the RPM number and choose the desired number in the fold down menu.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-08-2011, 06:34 AM
Fan-of-the-Man3
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bethel CT
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to fanoftheman3
thanks for that info. I'm not sure where the dockable info page is yet(just started using it) but I'll figure it out. thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-08-2011, 08:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Once the AE has gone through it's scan of DTC's you can right click anywhere in the gray area of the header or footer and a drop down menu will pop up. Choose "Actuation" and a menu full of actuations will pop up. The Idle speed actuation is in that menu. Select it, and then select enable, and then choose the desired RPM. It's fairly easy, but it does take a second for it to respond. Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors