Quick ? - Auto Locking Hubs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2011, 05:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quick ? - Auto Locking Hubs

As I stated in the title my auto locking hubs are not working. I have a 2006 f250 crew cab 4x4. I installed readylift 2.5 levelling kit this weekend and now the hubs are not locking automatically when i switch to 4x4..i can get out and lock them manually but they will not lock on auto. does anyone have any ideas why this would happen?? or has anyone dealt with the same problem?? thanks in advance for any help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:12 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,732
Thanks: 93
Thanked 189 Times in 152 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcastner57 View Post
As I stated in the title my auto locking hubs are not working. I have a 2006 f250 crew cab 4x4. I installed readylift 2.5 levelling kit this weekend and now the hubs are not locking automatically when i switch to 4x4..i can get out and lock them manually but they will not lock on auto. does anyone have any ideas why this would happen?? or has anyone dealt with the same problem?? thanks in advance for any help
Vacuum leak, either the line or the hub seals.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it worked fine two weeks ago before i put on the leveling kit on
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:49 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,732
Thanks: 93
Thanked 189 Times in 152 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcastner57 View Post
it worked fine two weeks ago before i put on the leveling kit on
Things don't last forever, poop happens. Rubber hose lines get cracks, and seals fail.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
very true..thanks for the help. any idea on cost? or is this something i could diagnose and fix myself?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: southwestern kansas
Posts: 370
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the same problem. would like to know that answer to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-01-2011, 07:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 1,256
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
During the install the vacuum line could have been crushed or pulled off. Try checking here : http://www.dieselsite.com/ProductImages/4WDSOF.gif
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-01-2011, 08:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Prince George, British Columbia
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I put a leveling kit it my company F150. A couple weeks later the auto hubs quit working. Took it to ford and they said a vacuum line broke. Ford warrantied it and it happened again. Took it to another shop and they found a broken vacuum line again. I told them it happened before so they looked a little deeper. It tuened out that at full lock on the steering, at max droup on a wheel, it would tear the line. They made me longer ones and its good now. They also may have damaged your lines during the install. If the let the axle droop too far during the install it could have torn your line.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-01-2011, 08:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did the install myself and we did let the axle drop pretty low...i didnt even think about that. ill check the line tomorrow at work and hopefully it is just disconnected. thanks for he help guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors