Factory tranny temp gauge - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2011, 04:41 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Posts: 718
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Factory tranny temp gauge

Im a fairly new owner of a 04 Lariat and i never see the temp guage move? Is that normal?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-10-2011, 04:44 AM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,617
Thanks: 6
Thanked 105 Times in 100 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by knostroke View Post
Im a fairly new owner of a 04 Lariat and i never see the temp guage move? Is that normal?
They are junk. It's not a true gauge. It's basically a sender that has preset limits to make the gauge move. Once that gauge shows hot, it's too late. Only way to go is an aftermarket Trans. Temp. gauge. My factory gauge is in the middle all of the time and my aftermarket gauge never gets above 140*.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 05:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 665
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
In my opinion, skip the individual guages and get you an Edge Insight (or something similar). This unit plugs into your OBDII port and captures what seems like hundreds of items including the actual temp of your engine oil (EOT), coolant (ECT) and tranny temps. On these rigs, having this data available will be invaluable. I luv my Insight monitor....and with the dash pod, it makes it look like OEM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:17 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: -2 reviews
Yes the insight with an EGT probe is a great setup. I did the same and just added a seperate fuel pressure gauge as the insight won't monitor that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-10-2011, 12:04 PM
The Silent Service

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Downside to the Edge, if the factory sender goes south, you're without any indication at all. That's the reason I'm installing gauges vise the Insight. To each his own preference, to me gauges work best.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors