Fuel Filter change - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2011, 01:25 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel Filter change

Hey guys I have had my truck sit for 3 days because it would not start.Last week it bogged out after I went to start it and then it started and ran fine for a day.The next day came out to go and nothing.So today I changed the fuel filters and it started and ran better then ever in the last little while.Does changing these things really make these motors run that much better.I know it is a dumb question but I am new to these diesels.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2011, 01:34 PM
Premium Member

What have your outside temps been like? You might have had a small issue with the fuel it's self. Are you running any anti gelling fluid?

And yes. Changing those fuel filters are very important. There are reasons for 2 of them. The first one helps get rid of any water in the fuel, and particles. The second one for making sure the fuel is any particles that may have made it through.

Did you fuel the truck recently. I mean real soon before your problem started? If so, you might have gotten some bad fuel.

Your truck loves maintenance!
Old 01-01-2011, 01:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Clean filters are ESSENTIAL to these engines. Oil, Fuel, Coolant, Tranny, and Air. Regular maintenance will keep your truck running for a long time.
Old 01-01-2011, 01:40 PM
Premium Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mah77 View Post
Clean filters are ESSENTIAL to these engines. Oil, Fuel, Coolant, Tranny, and Air. Regular maintenance will keep your truck running for a long time.