Quick Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2007, 10:42 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quick Question

Ok guys I am new here and just bought my first diesel last week. Its a 05 f-250 HD series. I love it so far. I have a question regaurding the power of these trucks. I have never driven a diesel until now but this thing amazes me with its power. You can be kreeping along and kick it and when the turbo kicks in it will spin the wheels over. I basically am trying to figure out if this is something these trucks do stock or could it have a chip. I mean its nothing over whelming but it is impressive for the size of this truck. It dont smoke black smoke like the rest of the trucks i seen with the programmers/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-22-2007, 10:47 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,526
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
Stock the 6.0's are pretty impressive. Most 6.0's I've seen that are running a chip or tuner smoke pretty good. I think it is safe to say it is stock if you are not seeing smoke, Although i'm no expert with the 6.0's.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-22-2007, 10:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vandalia
Posts: 227
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the 6.0 will break them loose pretty easy you probly dont have a chip unless you notuced the tranny shifting differently. its probly not chipped up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-22-2007, 10:56 AM
Strokin' In Dixie-Land
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy, Alabama
Posts: 2,393
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Welcome to the site!
'HD' series?
Anyway, I have an '05 4x4 crew cab. It now has a 4" exhaust and an improved intake elbow on it (no power control mods). Even before this, I had plenty of power. I wouldn't be surprised if yours is still stock. These 6.0's are pretty strong straight from the factory. It could, however, have a module or program installed. You would have to know what to look for (module) or hook up an analyzer to tell (program). If you don't have additional gauges (boost, egt) you might want to find out for sure if it has been modded, because the mods can significantly increase exhaust temps, which can in turn can cause you a surprise meltdown ($$$$$).
Congrats on your rig!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-22-2007, 11:31 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok just got back from the dealer and he showed me a switch that I have not seen since i had it. lol/ Its a three way toggle switch and in the up mode is were its been at since i bought it. The middle is in between power I guess and the last one is the most power cause it smokle alot . My question is were do I look to find out what i got and were should I run this thing at for normal good fuel mileage. Should I stay away from stage 3?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-22-2007, 11:38 AM
Strokin' In Dixie-Land
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy, Alabama
Posts: 2,393
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm not sure what you have - kinda' sounds like a Quadzilla adjustable module (or equivalent). Start tracing the wires back from the three-way switch. You should eventually get to the module. The Quadzilla is a bright green cube.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-22-2007, 11:47 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can anyone explain the proper way to activate this. is it ok to switch this on during driving or should it be done before the engine is started. also is it safe to use this on the hightest level?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-22-2007, 12:07 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,526
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
Don't know about switching it. I would suggest adding some gauges (specifically Exhaust Gas Temp - EGT) before running on level three. Other than that should be no problem running it wherever.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-22-2007, 01:46 PM
LTJDS
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 553
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation Gauges ! ! ! !

If you do not HAVE GAUGES U NEED THEM YESTERDAY !!!!!
I run my truck by lookin' at my gauges ONLY...
I Monitor
EGT (Exhaust Gas Temp)...........!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tranny Temp.
Boost in PSI.
Fuel Pressure in PSI.
Coolant Temp.
Oil Temp.
Intake air Temp.
I say this from EXPERIENCE
I Burned up mt OEM Turbo on my 7.3L
Then Proceeded to LOOSE oil Pressure and ended up needin' a Complete Rebuild..$$$$$$$
Get Gauges and Hope and Pray that the previous owner has not done too much damage already. If you do not MONITOR your Engine Parameters you will be destroying parts you are unaware Of....
Just my Opinion........Good Luck and Welcome to the site.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors