Maybe a dumb question?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2010, 10:25 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Maybe a dumb question??

Guys,
I am looking at buying an 03 6.0, and i am pretty new to the whole diesel thing but this is what im wondering. If i buy this truck am i looking at a lot of problems because i have been doing some reading on here and it looks like there are a lot of problems with the head studs and turbos once you start adding power. I will be mainly using this truck as a work truck. I want the 03 because i love the whistle it makes. I will be adding exhuast cold air and a programer. Do i need to go threw this thing and change everything before this happens?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-10-2010, 11:09 AM
Super Moderator

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
It isn't the power or mods that create the problems. Read the links in my signature.
Old 11-10-2010, 11:49 AM
Serving Our Country!

I don't think there is such a thing as a stupid question.

You should get an OASIS report from Ford (give the VIN to the dealer service folks - it's a free report) to get the details on warranty and claims service provided through Ford dealers. It won't cover any non-dealer work but it will provide a history of work done on the truck covered by the Ford Motor Company. Look for EGR cooler, EGR valve, oil cooler work. It's not a "no-buy" situation but should help give you an idea of what the truck has had issues with in the past.

Check the vehicle mileage against the operation hours. Excessive idling is bad for diesels. Look for an average over 35 mph...40 mph is better...some are LOW like 20 mph and could result in an early loss of that "whistle" you say you like.

Get a code reader and find out the codes in the truck's memory (if any).