I NEED HELP!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 09:32 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I NEED HELP!!

I have a 2005 F-350 SD w/6.0L. I am beginning to see that this was not a good year to buy a diesel.
Problems started with a burnt pastic smell.
coolant recovery reservoir cracked but understand I can fix that with epoxy. Knew I was loosing coolant but didnt see any on ground then discovered cracked recovery reservoir and figured it was burning before it hit the ground.
Responses to questions range from no oil to aliens living in engine block.
Someone suggested coolant is leaking into oil. How and what causes this?
How does blocking EGR work and should I do it and if so, how?
What is the STC fitting and does it play a part in anything?
What part do the oil rail plugs play?
Im a decent shade tree mechanic and think I can handle most repairs if they are not monstrous. Have repair manuals but they are limited in their detail.
I understand the answers to these questions could be lengthy but i would really appreciate any help anyone could give. I would be willing to give phone number to talk more about it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2010, 09:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Send a message via AIM to troid123
I would try using the "search" fuction, it is your friend. You will find answers to each and every one of your questions.
Old 10-29-2010, 09:47 AM
Super Moderator

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
There is nothing wrong with the 05. Have you ever changed the oil in this truck? Take the oil filter cap off and see if you still have a standpipe in the middle of the filter. If that is melted down start saving for a new engine.
Old 10-29-2010, 10:23 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by troid123 View Post