05 excursion not starting - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2010, 01:14 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
05 excursion not starting

Hey guys I am having an issue with a buddy's truck here. I am a gm mechanic and have no issues getting into things but this truck has me stumped.

Just a brief history, this was running down the highway and started to lose power, not running rough, just low on power and speed. Then it went away. The guy said he did notice that it sounded like the turbo whistle had gone away during the low power condition. Once it regained power he cruised for approx 10 miles and went poof, literally, truck stalled and wont fire. I was suspect of the oil system because I was not seeing any oil pressure register on the ipc when it was cranking. I was going to start with the basics, and do an oil change.

When I took the oil filter cap off, the filter looked like it had been sucked in, but more importantly, the whole inside of the cap where the filter slides on was melted/gone. I found a bunch of melted plastic on the bottom where the filter slides over also.

I have since gotten the turbo off and was going to start removing the oil cooler, was going to look into replacing the egr cooler as there is no coolant in the degas tank, or it doesnt seem like in the engine so far. The oil reaks of burnt ****. I am thinking that the thing was run without coolant and just got real freekin hot. I am worried about the oil filter cap plastic is what is causing the no oil pressure so thats why I was heading that way.

Any thoughts on what to look for, have you guys ever seen something like this? Just from the reading I have done over the weekend the egr coolers seem like a huge issue, this on is stock oem. Also looks like the low oil pressure pump may be shot. Along with the cooler.