How to change the VGT solinoid? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 10-20-2010, 03:41 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How to change the VGT solinoid?

Title says it all. The little solinoid on top of a 2004 turbo. What is involved in changing it. Code reader caught a code that said it is not working properly. Thanks in advance. Hopefully it is something simple to change.
CrystalCreek is offline  
post #2 of 11 Old 10-20-2010, 04:53 AM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
With the truck off unplug it and make sure the contacts are clean on both ends. Maybe spray a little brake cleaner in them to make sure they are clean. Hit them with some dielectric grease and plug it back in.

If it was working before you unplugged it it should still be working. It may just be showing the CEL because you had it unplugged. Can you reset your CEL and clear the codes? SCT or an Insight allow you to do that. If not have an AutoZone or similar do it for you.
PGreenSVT is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 10-20-2010, 05:07 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGreenSVT View Post
With the truck off unplug it and make sure the contacts are clean on both ends. Maybe spray a little brake cleaner in them to make sure they are clean. Hit them with some dielectric grease and plug it back in.

If it was working before you unplugged it it should still be working. It may just be showing the CEL because you had it unplugged. Can you reset your CEL and clear the codes? SCT or an Insight allow you to do that. If not have an AutoZone or similar do it for you.
I will try this and see. Do I have to unplug the battery to clear everything up and start the truck as fresh?
CrystalCreek is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 10-20-2010, 05:11 AM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Not if you have a way to clear the codes like with an SCT device or an Insight. You can also clear them by disconnecting the batteries for 20 minutes and letting everything reset.
PGreenSVT is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 10-20-2010, 05:53 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PGreenSVT View Post
Not if you have a way to clear the codes like with an SCT device or an Insight. You can also clear them by disconnecting the batteries for 20 minutes and letting everything reset.
Dude, you are awesome. Thanks for all your help again. I will clear all codes by way of battery. Thanks again. If I still have the same code then I will ask for the VGT solinoid replacement procedure. It looks easy, but every time I think that its always ends in disaster.
CrystalCreek is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 10-20-2010, 06:48 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you do end up changing it--it is very easy to do, just unplug it take 1 bolt out with the little bracket and just pull out and replace. It only will bolt up 1 way so I dont think you can screw it up.
youngers is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 10-21-2010, 04:57 AM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngers View Post
If you do end up changing it--it is very easy to do, just unplug it take 1 bolt out with the little bracket and just pull out and replace. It only will bolt up 1 way so I dont think you can screw it up.
His solenoid isn't bad, it's just throwing a code from having run it unplugged in an experiment.

Actually since it works now if you just drive it it should see that it works now and reset the light itself. Might take a while though.
PGreenSVT is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 10-22-2010, 07:41 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't see any experiment said on here but he could also have sticking vanes.

Were you going for the super loud turbo whistle? Bad news.
obsidian is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 10-22-2010, 11:03 AM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by obsidian View Post
I don't see any experiment said on here but he could also have sticking vanes.

Were you going for the super loud turbo whistle? Bad news.
That was in a different thread. He wanted to know if he put a smoke switch in and threw it at idle if it would quiet his turbo whine. The answer was yes but it was a bad idea and would smoke a lot. Some people in that thread seemed to think it wouldn't be a big deal so I told him if he wanted to see what it would do, set it on hi idle and pull the plug off the VGT solenoid. He did and found out it smoked way to much.

Now he has the VGT solenoid code from having it unplugged. All he needs to do is reset it.


All the facts weren't presented here to diagnose the problem.
PGreenSVT is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 10-22-2010, 02:34 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nicely done!

Plug it back in and drive.
obsidian is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome