high idle mod with lighted switch? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
high idle mod with lighted switch?

Has anyone used a lighted switch on there high idle? I have a pilot led touch switch that i want to wire to it, but i can't get it to work. The switch has three poles but i only have to wires to connect. Can any one help me with this? Any help at all would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:54 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Scranton, PA
Posts: 98
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you have to ground the switch for the light to work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-17-2010, 07:45 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,213
Thanks: 1
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had the same issue. On the switch I used, the post nearest the light goes to ground.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-17-2010, 08:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: forest lake, minnesota
Posts: 2,290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yep it needs to be grounded.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-17-2010, 09:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check my pics i used one and took pics of the ground
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-17-2010, 09:05 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alabama
Posts: 5,648
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Where do you route the ground wire too?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-17-2010, 09:09 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok so i checked my pictures and there gone. Anyhow when you pull the cover off that conceals the wires under your steering wheel you will see the ground location. It is just to the right of wheel your right leg would be while driving, you will see two green wires which are grounded to the metal. Losen one up, put your ground in with it and tighten it back down.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-17-2010, 07:25 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
mine has to lights on it. a red one while its off and blue when its on. i tried grounding it but couldnt get it to work. the three post are V+,V-, and V+ out.I grounded the V- post and it wouldnt do a thing. i tried another switch to see if the switch was bad but it wouldnt work either. heres a link to a video of how the switch is suppose to work.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-18-2010, 02:27 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Some ones gotta know how to wire this thing. Anyone?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-18-2010, 09:18 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure what kind of switch you're dealing with. Easiest way to figure it out is to use an Ohm meter across the various combinations of posts and flip the switch to see where you have continuity.

If I had to guess though, V+ will be your fused 12vDC power source (e.g. battery), V+out will be to the high idle circuit, and V- will be to ground.

Lastly, you are using a 12vDC rated switch, right? You can get 120vAC rated switches. They use a neon light rather than LED. You'll have continuity across the switch but you'll never light the neon off with 12vDC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors