6.0 cranks but won't start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2010, 11:48 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lovington, NM
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 cranks but won't start

Hey everyone,
I'm new here and I've been looking thru a lot of posts and can't seem to find anything that will help. I've had my '04 PSD for about 6 months now and last month while leaving work the truck died. I do have an SCT tuner with a 150 HP tune on it as well as an exhaust and EGR delete. As I was leaving the yard I rolled into in from about 20 MPH and the truck seemed to stall then died. I tried to crank it over and it struggled for a bit to turn it over but finaly turned it over. I cranked it till the batteries died and towed it home. I pulled the codes with the tuner and it did't show any. Yesterday I went to look at the codes again and it showed that it couldn't read the computer. Does anyone have any ideas on what may be causing the truck to not start. Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:17 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 30 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You need to scan it with a real scanner and not just the SCT. Without more information you're just chasing your tail.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lovington, NM
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I used my buddy's code reader he bought awhile back to check to see if the scanner was lieing yesterday and that's what said could not read ECM. Do I need to use a diagnostic scan tool, cause I'm debating between buying one to do it or just taking it to the stealership to have them run it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:43 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 30 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
A real diagnostic code reader is what you need. Are your batteries fully charged? AutoEnginuity is a great tool to have if you have a laptop and some spare change to work with.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:48 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lovington, NM
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok yeah I used a real code reader it was one he bought from a local parts store. And the batteries are fully charged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:52 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 30 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked60PS View Post
Ok yeah I used a real code reader it was one he bought from a local parts store. And the batteries are fully charged.
If it is just a parts store OBD II scanner that won't do the job. You need something equivalent to what a shop uses for diagnostics.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:50 PM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,777
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Most dealerships around here will check your codes for free
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-07-2010, 07:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lovington, NM
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Red face

The local dealership in Hobbs wants $310 just to plug in. And are we talking about a diagnostic scan tool or a code reader, cause that's 2 totally different beasts. Like a 1000-2000 dollar difference.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-08-2010, 01:04 PM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,777
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
The AE is a diag scan tool, and for the 6.0 program, its like 600 bucks from what I hear. That sucks, my dealer checks them for free, and then try and get to to let them diagnose it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-08-2010, 01:19 PM
NOT a Democrat
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Robinson Twp PA (Pittsburgh)
Posts: 4,511
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Galaxie
Drag it to the dealer.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors