coolant temperature - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2010, 05:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
coolant temperature

What a great web site. I am relatively new to the powerstroke world. I purchaced a 2005 powerstroke with 55k miles on it about 2 months ago and it has been a great truck. As I understand it reading all the information, the engine oil temperature and the coolant temperature should trend with each other and be within 20 degrees of each other. For the most part this is what I have. When I first start out my coolant temperature climbs faster than my engine oil temperature. Once they get to ~180-200 degrees they trend the same. My coolant temperature runs higher than my engine oil temperature both under normal load and light/oderate towing. This is a little different than I would have expected. During heavy towing the engine oil temp is slighly higher (~5 degrees). Is it normal for coolant temp to be higher than engine oil temp?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-04-2010, 05:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevemott View Post