ARPs torqued to 245 not 210...now probs - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 09-19-2010, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
raisemhigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 170
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ARPs torqued to 245 not 210...now probs

2004 F250 w/ 80k. All the fixes back in April...oil cooler, egr delete, victor rienz gaskets and studs, fluxed heads, coolant flush, and turbo cleaned.

I have also replaced the remainder 6 of 8 injectors this past month.

Ran awesome for a few months, then noticed some puking recently (before the 6 injs were swapped). Then followed with constant tea kettle whistle under load/higher boost. My mechanic had it for a couple days and found that I'm getting exhaust pressure in my coolant....degas bottle would max out the pressure gauge within a min of driving. We have determined that it has to be one of the gaskets allowing exhaust to mix w a coolant passage.

I found out my mechanic did not torque the ARPs to the new rating. He has never had a truck come back, and is doing all labor for free.

Would this over torque cause my head gaskets to leak after 3 months? Why does the grease used, change the torque? Should I use the VR gaskets again, or should I buy OEM?

SOLD: 2004 F250 6.0L, 8" on 38s, SCT, intake, exhaust, studded and gutted

raisemhigh is offline  
post #2 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 04:33 AM
Premium Member
 
Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,715
Thanks: 57
Thanked 93 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The over torque would not cause the gaskets to leak. Under torque would, but over torque not so much. By any chance did you have your heads checked for flatness and/or cracks when the studs were done? Were the head gaskets already blown when you had the truck studded the first time?
Snake is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 04:59 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jtk27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pauls Valley, OK
Posts: 241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
subscribed

05 F250 King Ranch PSD 4x4
-ARP head studs with factory ford gaskets
-Updated oil rail plugs
-Liberator diesel Y-pipe
-SCT X3 Custom tuned by Eric
-Dieselsite Coolant filter kit
-High Idle Mod
-Edge Insight CS w/EGT
-Sinister EGR Delete
-Prestige Remote Start
-Upgraded turbo drain tube
-Upgraded HPOP connection
-Blue spring kit

South Central Oklahoma Ranch Hand Accessory Dealer
jtk27 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 08:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

 
Fantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,111
Thanks: 31
Thanked 184 Times in 158 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake View Post
The over torque would not cause the gaskets to leak. Under torque would, but over torque not so much. By any chance did you have your heads checked for flatness and/or cracks when the studs were done? Were the head gaskets already blown when you had the truck studded the first time?
He said they were fluxed, but not decked or machined.

John

2004 Harley Davidson F250 #1191 - 6.0 Powerstroke
Studded - Lots Of Bulletproof Diesel Parts
Swamps 58v FICM - KC Stage 2 Turbo
Ported Intake - S&B CAI

100,000 Miles

Live in Northern California? Stop in here and say hi
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/wcs...rnia-chat.html
Fantom is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 09:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
pizza pig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,044
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well thats the answer to your question, theyre probably warped and leaking, studs or not non flat heads will leak all day
pizza pig is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eureka MT
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i heard you have to tap your stud holes before installing new arp studs?? is this true???
jbenford is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 11:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Abrannan19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
probably a warped head or cracked cylinder wall.

Adam Brannan

First Coast Diesel Performance

Abrannan19 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 11:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
War Eagle B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Market, AL
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by raisemhigh View Post
Why does the grease used, change the torque?
When calculating the preload from torquing bolts/nuts (the amount of stretch load on the bolt shank) the engineers take into account the friction of the nut threads to the bolt threads. Changing the grease changes the frictional coefficient so the amount of torque will go up or down to get the same tension load in the bolt.

2005 F250 FX4 6.0 Powerstroke CC SB; No Cat; High Idle Mod - TOTALED!
2005 F250 Lariat 6.0 Powerstroke CCSB; Scangauge II

War Eagle B is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 11:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eureka MT
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That is a great explanation! Thanks. Was wondering the same thing
jbenford is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 09-20-2010, 11:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Abrannan19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
New Preload (torque) Recommendations for 6.0 ARP studs

Adam Brannan

First Coast Diesel Performance

Abrannan19 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome