Adjusting Speedo and Odometer - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 07-17-2010, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Adjusting Speedo and Odometer

I just replaced the factory tires on my truck with 35x12.50x18 tires. I thought my SCT x3 would be able to adjust the speedo for me. But after searching on here I found out that is not the case. Apparently the SCT only adjusts for transmission shifting?

I know lots of guys have larger tires on here and I was wondering what you guys did to adjust your speedo. I would prefer not to take it to ford or any other shop and have it done since I am known for changing tires on my vehicles often and it would probably get expensive going back to the shop every time I change tires.

I am looking to purchase a module that can do this that way I can do it myself. Does anybody with the AE software know if it is capable of doing this? Since I would like to buy the AE software anyway this might be the excuse I need to do so. Thanks

-Aaron

2005 Ford F350
SCT X3
Isspro Performax Gauges
Dieselsite Boots
Fumoto Oil Drain
Coolant Filter
MBRP Dual 4" Straight Pipe
Harley Headlights
Pioneer In Dash GPS
6000K HID Headlight and Foglights
Smoked Lights
6.0DSLPWR is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 07-17-2010, 03:39 PM
Now I'm Strokin6.4Liters
 
Strokin6Liters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 2,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
I don't know about the AE but i have heard good things about the Truspeed module.

2015 CCLB F350 Dually King Ranch - SCT, Flo-Pro, No Limit Fabrication, Recon, Atomic LED

2008 CCSB F250 FX4 6 Speed - Spartan, KEM, S&B, Diamond Eye, Southbend, Top Gun Customz, Javelina, Ranch Hand, Bilstein, Toyo, XD, N-Fab, DDM, Southernlite LED, Weathertech, Recon, Kenwood, JL Audio, Flip Hitch - SOLD

2005 ECSB F250 - SCT, MBRP, ARP, FCDP, S&B, Autometer, Swamp's, Recon, JL Audio, MTX, Bushwacker, Westin, XD, Toyo - SOLD
Strokin6Liters is online now  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-17-2010, 08:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Davey~do's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6.0DSLPWR View Post
I just replaced the factory tires on my truck with 35x12.50x18 tires. I thought my SCT x3 would be able to adjust the speedo for me. But after searching on here I found out that is not the case. Apparently the SCT only adjusts for transmission shifting?

I know lots of guys have larger tires on here and I was wondering what you guys did to adjust your speedo. I would prefer not to take it to ford or any other shop and have it done since I am known for changing tires on my vehicles often and it would probably get expensive going back to the shop every time I change tires.

I am looking to purchase a module that can do this that way I can do it myself. Does anybody with the AE software know if it is capable of doing this? Since I would like to buy the AE software anyway this might be the excuse I need to do so. Thanks
SCT will only affect the shift points, correct.

AE WILL correct your speedo for larger tires. It will allow adjustment up to 40", in 1/2" increments. The AE software rocks, you wont go wrong with that purchase

David
2012 CCSB SRW FX4
2.5" Level, Amp Steps
Davey~do is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-17-2010, 08:28 PM
Lt. Negativity
 
RescueF250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stafford
Posts: 1,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ive had 38's never adjusted it got used to it, also your gonna have to adjust your revs per mile in your tune. Not sure who your tuner is but you can reload the same tune and adjust your revs per mile then on your own helps with the trans.

Matt at Gearhead,Doug at GoGo,Dave at Diesel Innovations,Ryan at Full Force Diesel,Eric at Innovative. Adam at First Coast

Built 2003 with 04.5-07 parts,Hey its a hybrid . Totaled

New Era Rescue 08 F250 CC/SB No limit stuff, H&S stuff, Fl pro stuff.
RescueF250 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-17-2010, 10:14 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Langley, BC, Canada
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by RescueF250 View Post
Ive had 38's never adjusted it got used to it, also your gonna have to adjust your revs per mile in your tune. Not sure who your tuner is but you can reload the same tune and adjust your revs per mile then on your own helps with the trans.
Many years ago I had a 88 F150 with larger tires and the speedo was always off because of it and I never worried about it. But if the speedo is off the odometer is going to be off aswell right? I want to adjust the tire size so my odometer will be correct.

Regarding tunes....I have tunes from eric and matt. I am just going to look up the revs per mile for my tires and change it when I upload the tune instead of getting the actual tunes changed.

I think I am going to order AE next payday. Ive wanted to get the AE software for awhile anyway and I think it would be a really good thing to have for diagnosing any issues I will have with my truck and I can use it to change my tire size.

-Aaron

2005 Ford F350
SCT X3
Isspro Performax Gauges
Dieselsite Boots
Fumoto Oil Drain
Coolant Filter
MBRP Dual 4" Straight Pipe
Harley Headlights
Pioneer In Dash GPS
6000K HID Headlight and Foglights
Smoked Lights
6.0DSLPWR is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-18-2010, 08:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the Merlin Controls Speed Wizard, works awesome.
Banshee365 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-18-2010, 09:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Abrannan19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
Merlin Controls Speed Wizard is top notch, I have 2 of them in stock if you are interested.

Adam Brannan

First Coast Diesel Performance

Abrannan19 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome