6.0 Good motor? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2010, 09:24 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 Good motor?

As said in previous post. I am new to the diesel world. I am shopping between Ford Powerstroke and Chevy Duramax. I am scared to buy a truck that is 7+ years old so that I can have a 7.3 L. So I figured I would check out the later models 6.0L. Are these trucks really plagued with engine problems? How are the transmissions? I will be financing for 5 years. Would you hesitate to buy a truck with 80k miles? I want to find a 250 with ext cab short bed. 3.73 gears. Stock motor. 4x4. no more than 80k miles. What would this truck get for approx mpg. I drive mostly on main roads at around 55-60 MPH. Not very much in town puttering. I average 15k-18k miles per year. That meas the truck would have approx 170k milesw on it by the time I got i paid off. Are there typical bench marks for when I would start to see sme major problems? Thanks for your help guys. Ryan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-01-2010, 10:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

If you really are sticking to side roads and 55-60 mph you should probably get around 16+ mpg. As for the truck, I bought mine with 125,000 miles on it. It will either last or it won't. It can be a bit of a crapshoot with a 6.0L. When you look at one be sure to get the Oasis report so you can tell if it was a lemon.

For comparison sake you would probably get around 17-18 mpg with a Dodge or Duramax, but they both have their own sets of issues.
Old 07-01-2010, 10:47 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit

Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
As long as you do the maintanence as scheduled the 6.0 is great
Old 07-01-2010, 11:53 AM
Banned

Feedback Score: 2 reviews