techron plus - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2010, 03:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Klamath falls Or
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
techron plus

Just wondering if anyone has used the chevron techron plus concentrate for fuel guage problem i have heard it can help but i read on the bottle and it doesnt say if you can use in diesel engines or not jsut wondering if anybody new if you can use it or not Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-12-2010, 07:59 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,983
Thanks: 4
Thanked 31 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
How is that going to help a gauge?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-12-2010, 08:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Klamath falls Or
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
here is where i read about it Check Engine Light on with P0460 Fuel Level Sensor Code:
This may be caused by a miscommunication of fuel level ststus between the instrument cluster and engine computer. This code is set when the engine computer does not see the fuel level dropping it expects. It may be caused by customer-installed items, such as a remote start system that does not power the dash when activated, an over-sized fuel tank or in-bed fuel tank. If these conditions do not exsist, the engine computer should be reprogrammed using WDS/IDS version 43.4 or higher. This condition can also be caused by fueling with the engine running, parking on an angle, or driving up a long grade. In some cases the fuel level sender may be faulty, or have a sulfur build up on the sender and have code P463(use Chevron Techron Plus Concentrate to correct). TSB 06-13-11
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-12-2010, 08:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 563
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
:: Waiting for the lawyer chick that posts on all of the fuel tank issue related threads advertising her law firm about some bogus lawsuit they have going against Ford for fuel tank problems to put her plug on this thread... ::

(Please excuse the rediculously long sentance.)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-12-2010, 08:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Klamath falls Or
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
we got one of those huh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-13-2010, 07:57 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta area
Posts: 563
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tschweiger View Post
we got one of those huh
Yep, spam if you ask me. Search all of her short post history.

07 Fuel tank problems
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-19-2011, 12:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Westminster MD
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Sooo did this question ever get an answer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-01-2012, 09:32 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Was searching for info on Techron in diesels myself when I ran across your thread. Continuing my search, I ran across a few articles and one interesting related ad says Techron Concentrate Plus is OK for use in direct and in-direct injection diesels and mentions sulfur deposits. It doesn't specifically say it'll fix your issue, but it looks likie it's a safe try anyway. Chevron Introduces TECHRON Concentrate Plus - Science News - redOrbit
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-02-2012, 10:29 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
In the Audi community there are discussions of people fixing fuel sender problems by running a couple of bottles of Techron through a tank of gas. I have not personally tried it, but I have read more than a few post about it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Westminster MD
Posts: 357
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
One bottle and my fuel gauge was working again. It's been about 8 months with no problems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors