Need some help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2010, 07:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need some help

Hey guys this is my first time posting here so first off hello. I have some questions on what I believe is a pretty decent deal on a truck that is in my area. Im looking at a 2006 f250 KR thats loaded (no moonroof) with the 6.0 and 69k on the clock. They want 29k for it, but i think i can talk them down. I currently own a 2005 dodge ram 1500 that i bought a few years ago when i turned 18. I have always been a diesel fanatic and this look like a good opportunity to own my first diesel now that im 21. I guess here are my questions. Assuming that the truck is in good shape do you guys think that this is a good deal? Also with new studs and gaskets can I make some serious power out of the 6.0? I know the 5r110 will hold plenty, but will the engine? Is there anything that I should consider? What kind of mileage do this beasts get? Its probably not much worse than the 14 that i currently get. Thanks in advance for all the help.
-Eric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2010, 12:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Does anyone have any advise?
Old 06-01-2010, 01:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

I've got a 2006 F350 FX4 SRW with a manual trans and I get between 17-18 mpg. I hear that the guys with auto's get even better.

As for the power... I just got a SCT X3 tuner with custom tunes, and the power increase is amazing. You'll think its a completely different truck. But, the million dollar question is will the engine (and head gaskets) hold up? and no one will be able to tell you that. It's a gamble, but with studs and an egr delete is a good power-plant that can definately make some power.

I say go for it... but, talk'em down first.