Oil is too clean? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 07:08 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oil is too clean?

I'm new to diesels, but recently bought an '04 F250 SD with about 78,000 miles on it. Not too sure of the service history (looks like coolant puke on the blanket under the hood but could maybe be residue from some kind of steam cleaning?).

My question is about the oil. I'm only on my second fill-up (about 750 miles on the beast), but both times I've checked the oil, it's clear enough that it's difficult to see on the stick. I have to hold it so the light reflects off it and I can see where it's wet.

My understanding about diesels was that the oil gets dirty quickly. If the window sticker is right, there's about 3,000 miles on the oil, assuming a 5,000 mile change interval.

So that's not conclusive, but is there something about the engine or maybe about ULSD that keeps it from getting dirty quickly?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-26-2010, 08:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

If it's still pretty clean it's got less than 3k miles on it. It's not a very dirty engine but will dirty up at at least the same rate as a gasser. If the truck is idled alot it will darken up quicker.
Old 03-26-2010, 08:42 PM

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Hmm.. Coolant puke is NEVER a good sign. Sounds to me like you have a clean running diesel though..
Old 03-26-2010, 09:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by azkcr View Post
Hmm.. Coolant puke is NEVER a good sign. Sounds to me like you have a clean running diesel though..
Like I say, I'm new to this, so I can only imagine what that looks like, but the stain on the hood blanket goes clear over on the far passenger side. Is that normal for a puking Degas bottle?
Old 03-26-2010, 09:46 PM

Quote: