do u need the stock fuel filters if u have an air dog - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 03-12-2010, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do u need the stock fuel filters if u have an air dog

ok so i got an air dog and i got thinking if that has 2 filters y do i need the 2 stock ones so i took them out the truck started and ran for a while but them cut off i thought air was still in the lines so i turned the key a few times befor i started it back and it would run for a min or two but then it what cut off y ? dose the filters have some thing to do with it to keep it running ?

how much pressure dose the the stock pump under the truck on the frame rail put out ?
woodsenterprises is offline  
post #2 of 3 Old 03-12-2010, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That was a bad idea. Sedimenet in the filter bowls just got into your injectors. I would plan on a new set soon. Even if you cleaned them out, it is not enough. 7.3 have a devise that prevents the engine from running without the fuel filter in. Dunno if the 6.0 does too.

Dan
E99 F-350 ZF6
Top gun front bumper, 05 painted grill, HID's, Harley lights, Sniper tune, Adrenaline HPOP, 4 ISSpro Performax gauges, H2e, DIY Stage 1, Triangle 7400 lb rear leafs, 110 gal aux fuel tank, South Bend pucked clutch, winch, 2" leveling kit

2003 Azure Blue Mach 1 -- Drag Car
venom_nitrous is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 03-12-2010, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
na the air dog filters are a smaller micron filter than the stock ones how can sediment get in there ? i put the stock filters back in cuz it didnt run right but now it runs fine it better not mess up the injectors there not stock
woodsenterprises is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome